Strikers lock in WBBL|09 finals with seven-wicket win

A seven-wicket win against the Sydney Sixers on Saturday night has secured the Adelaide Strikers a place in the Weber WBBL|09 finals series.

At North Sydney Oval, the Strikers won toss elected to field, but it was the Sixers who had the best of the Power Play, racing to 0-32.

It was all the Strikers from there though, as they conceded only 26 runs in the next six overs.

Two wickets were also taken in that time, with the captain Tahlia McGrath removing Suzie Bates and Dani Gibson getting Ash Gardner caught behind.

After drinks, the skipper struck again, this time getting her fellow captain Ellyse Perry out, a crucial wicket with her going well on 37.

Amanda-Jade Wellington got the next two wickets, including a ripping delivery to hit the top of Mathilda Carmichael’s off-stump.

Tight bowling from Anesu Mushangwe was rewarded in the 17th over, bowling Maitlan Brown.

Chloe Tryon was the only Sixer to show some resistance, making 39 runs before Gibson got her wicket, with help from Bridget Patterson’s clean hands behind the stumps.

Two balls later, Gibson got her third and she finished the Strikers leading wicket-taker with her 3-34.

Gibson’s fellow bowlers were incredibly economical throughout their overs, with Megan Schutt only going for 16 runs off her four overs and leg-spinners Wellington (2-13) and Mushangwe (1-16) following suit.

After the 20 overs, the Sixers finished 8-122, with the Strikers requiring just over a run a ball in their batting innings.

The leading run-scorer for the Strikers so far in WBBL|09, Katie Mack again contributed from the top of the order, batting the first 10 overs for her 45 runs.

Patterson hit three fours off Ellyse Perry in over 14 to quickly bring the total down.

A McGrath boundary brought up the winning runs in over 18, to not only secure the seven-wicket win, but herself the Player of the Match award for her 38* and two wickets.

The Strikers will remain in Sydney ahead of their Tuesday afternoon match against the Sydney Thunder at Cricket Central, before returning to Adelaide ahead of the WBBL Stadium Series match at Adelaide Oval.

You can get tickets to the match on Friday, November 24 here.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Partners

Supply Partners

Charity Partner