Strikers trio acknowledged for standout BBL|05 campaigns

Head and Rashid were also selected in’s ‘Team of the Tournament’ for their stellar individual seasons.

WATCH: Head's New Year's miracle

The nomination follows a breakout season for Head, who recorded 299 runs off just 193 balls over the season, as well as taking six wickets at an average of 19.67.

The 22-year-old also finished fourth in the umpire-voted ‘Player of the Tournament’ award and was named the ‘Young Gun’ as the highest vote-getter aged under 25.

The left-hander’s brilliant season was also enough to see him named in Australia’s 17-man T20 squad set to take on India this week, alongside fellow Striker Kane Richardson.

Speaking after the Strikers’ semi-final loss to the Sydney Thunder, coach Jason Gillespie praised Head’s ability to perform under pressure this season, describing him as “a pretty special player”.

“He’s played some wonderful knocks in tough situations, and that’s the mark of a good player,” Gillespie said to the media.

“If you can find a way to score runs or have an impact…and find a way to be a match-winner, those sort of players are coveted by national selectors, and Travis is certainly one of those.”

International signings Adil Rashid and Mahela Jayawardena also proved their worth, finishing second and third respectively in the ‘Player of the Tournament’ votes to see the Strikers round out three of the top four positions.

WATCH: Rashid runs hot in Adelaide

It was a near flawless season for Rashid, who finished as the second-leading wicket taker with 16 scalps at an average of 14.13 to bamboozle local batsman and forge a reputation as one of the world’s premier short-form spinners. 

Meanwhile, Jayawardena’s considerable reputation was only enhanced by his BBL|05 campaign, scoring 191 runs across seven matches, including two crucial half-centuries at the top of the order to help guide the Strikers to a second consecutive minor premiership.

Brisbane Heat captain Chris Lynn was named Player of the Tournament for his 378 runs off just 218 deliveries.


KFC BBL|05 ‘Team of the Tournament’

Chris Gayle (Melbourne Renegades)

Luke Wright (Melbourne Stars)

Chris Lynn (Brisbane Heat)

Mike Hussey (c) (Sydney Thunder)

Travis Head (Adelaide Strikers)

Tim Paine (wk) (Hobart Hurricanes)

Andre Russell (Sydney Thunder)

Adil Rashid (Adelaide Strikers)

Andrew Tye (Perth Scorchers)

Samuel Badree (Brisbane Heat)

Shaun Tait (Hobart Hurricanes)

KFC BBL|05 ‘Player of the Tournament’ Top 10 vote-getters

  1. Chris Lynn (22 votes)
  2. Adil Rashid (17 votes)
  3. Mahela Jayawardena (15 votes)
  4. Travis Head (14 votes)
  5. Aaron Finch (12 votes)
  6. Glenn Maxwell (12 votes)
  7. Mike Hussey (11 votes)
  8. Shaun Marsh (11 votes)
  9. Shane Watson (11 votes)
  10. Andre Russell (11 votes)

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Partners

Supply Partners

Charity Partner