Young talent time for promising pair

The teens have been selected in a ‘Lanning XI’ squad to compete against a ‘Perry XI’ in three Twenty20 matches across two days at Phillip Oval in the nation’s capital.

The exhibition games - now in their third year - play an important role in developing the country’s top underage female talent.

Selection was completed in conjunction with WBBL clubs and state associations, with players to wear the colours of their affiliated WBBL clubs during matches.

Fast bowler Brown, who signed a three-year deal with the club, is already one of the quickest young bowlers in the country and is among nine WBBL-contracted players named.

Darcie Brown highlights

Dual-sport athlete de Broughe made her Women’s National Cricket League debut for South Australia in September and is also an accomplished hockey player.

Cricket Australia Female High Performance Coach Leah Poulton said it was exciting to see Australia’s young female stars shining through.

“The female player pathway is the strongest it has even been, and these matches certainly contribute to that along with regular overseas tours for the Australia Under-19 side,” Poulton said.

“Just recently we’ve seen how well players such as Phoebe Litchfield, Stella Campbell and Tess Flintoff have done stepping up to the WBBL which is the leading women’s domestic cricket league in the world, so it’s evident that the pathway is doing what its designed to do.”

Former Striker and Adelaide assistant coach Shelley Nitschke will mentor the Perry XI squad with BBL|07 Championship player Jono Dean serving as her assistant.

The exhibition matches begin on Saturday, 23 November.

Lanning XI
Isabelle Arafas (Sydney Sixers)
Jade Allen (Sydney Thunder)
Darcie Brown* (Adelaide Strikers)
Emma de Broughe (Adelaide Strikers)
Tess Flintoff* (Melbourne Stars)
Georgia Gall (Melbourne Renegades)
Sienna Ginger (Brisbane Heat)
Molly Healy (Perth Scorchers)
Ruth Johnston (Brisbane Heat)
Charli Knott* (Brisbane Heat)
Caitlin Mair (Brisbane Heat)
Kate Peterson* (Sydney Thunder)
Coach: Jodie Fields
Assistant Coach:
Leah Poulton

Perry XI
Zoe Britcliffe (Perth Scorchers)
Lucy Cripps* (Melbourne Stars)
Stella Campbell* (Sydney Sixers)
Hannah Darlington* (Sydney Thunder)
Molly Godsell (Sydney Thunder)
Ella Hayward (Melbourne Renegades)
Emma Hughes* (Sydney Sixers)
Phoebe Litchfield* (Sydney Thunder)
Ella Marsh (Hobart Hurricanes)
Lilly Mills* (Brisbane Heat)
Courtney Sippel* (Brisbane Heat)
Amy Smith (Hobart Hurricanes)
Shelley Nitschke
Assistant Coach:
Jono Dean

*WBBL contracted player

Under-19 rebel Women’s Big Bash League exhibition matches

Saturday 23 November
9:30am: WBBL Exhibition Match 1 – Lanning XI v Perry XI, Phillip Oval, Canberra
2pm: WBBL Exhibition Match 2 – Lanning XI v Perry XI, Phillip Oval, Canberra

Sunday 24 November
9am: WBBL Exhibition Match 3 – Lanning XI v Perry XI, Phillip Oval, Canberra

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Partners

Supply Partners

Charity Partner