Duo named for Australian T20I series

Carey, 28, confirms his place as Australia’s first-choice wicketkeeper in limited overs cricket as joint vice-captain of the squad alongside pace bowler Pat Cummins.

The left-hander has been in brilliant touch in both one-day and T20 formats since his stellar ICC World Cup campaign in which he earned a place in the Team of the Tournament.

He went on to score two half-centuries in his debut Vitality Blast season with Sussex in the UK under the guidance of Strikers and Sussex coach Jason Gillespie.

Carey then marked his return home with a sublime 80* off only 52 balls in the Marsh One-Day Cup last Tuesday in a match-winning knock for South Australia at Karen Rolton Oval.

A fit and firing Stanlake is aiming for his first T20I appearance in almost a year.

The towering quick has enjoyed a strong start to the Marsh One-Day Cup with ladder leaders Queensland, including a Player of the Match performance against South Australia late last month where he claimed 3/38 from his 10 overs.

The upcoming Gillette T20I Series pits Australia against Sri Lanka and Pakistan in six matches beginning on 27 October at Adelaide Oval. Tickets to the match are available now.

The series is important preparation for Australia ahead of next year’s Twenty20 World Cup, which will also be held on home soil.

AUSTRALIA’S 14-PLAYER SQUAD - Gillette Twenty20 International Series
Aaron Finch (captain) (Victoria)
Ashton Agar (Western Australia)
Alex Carey (vice-captain) (South Australia)
Pat Cummins (vice-captain) (New South Wales)
Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)
Ben McDermott (Tasmania)
Kane Richardson (South Australia)
Steve Smith (New South Wales)
Billy Stanlake (Queensland)
Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)
Ashton Turner (Western Australia)
Andrew Tye (Western Australia)
David Warner (New South Wales)
Adam Zampa (South Australia)

Australia vs Sri Lanka:
Sunday, October 27 – First T20I, Adelaide Oval
Wednesday, October 30 – Second T20I, The Gabba
Friday, November 1 – Third T20I, Melbourne Cricket Ground         

Australia vs Pakistan:
Sunday, November 3 – First T20I, Sydney Cricket Ground
Tuesday, November 5 – Second T20I, Manuka Oval
Friday, November 8 – Third T20I, Perth Stadium

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Partners

Supply Partners

Charity Partner