Responsive image

What is the WBBL?

What is the WBBL?

The WBBL will create a visible participation pathway for females and inspire future generations to continue playing cricket.

The Women's Big Bash League is back!

In July 2015, the historic decision was made to align the best female cricketers in the country with the BBL, and the WBBL was born.

Just like the men's game there are eight clubs, with each team adopting the same team colours and name as their male counterparts. 


With eight teams, the WBBL follows a similar format to the men's. The major differences are that, instead of only eight regular season matches, each WBBL side will take on each other twice, with 14 matches to be played per side.

The matches are held in weekend carnival styles, with blocks of matches starting from December 10. Not only does this concentrate the matches to close weekend periods, but it will also give all of the competitors time to balance their cricketing commitments with work and study.


Following the success of last year's ratings, Channel 10 announced they will be broadcasting ten WBBL matches on their main channel this season, as well as two more on Channel One.

The Strikers will be televised on Channel 10 twice this year, with our New Year's Eve clash against the Perth Scorchers broadcast live from 1.15pm local time, and in our season opener on December 10 against the Melbourne Renegades from 1.15pm ACST. All other games will either be broadcast live on Channel One, or streamed live on 

You can check out the full fixture list for the Strikers right here.


Each WBBL squad will be announced to include 14 active players. Like the WBBL, International players can be signed by each franchise, meaning the tournament will feature not only the best women from Australia, but the best from around the globe.

To ensure an even spread of talent, each club is permitted to sign up to five players who are either a) Southern Stars representatives from the last three years, or b) overseas players.

Strikers squad

You can view our WBBL Strikers squad here. 


The best thing about the WBBL is that tickets are absolutely free! We want to encourage as many people as possible to get out and enjoy the exciting action. The only match which will require a ticket are is the double-header against Perth at the Adelaide Oval, but your ticket to the WBBL will also get you in to see the men's game as well which adds to the great value offering.

Where can I watch a match this year?

This season all our home matches will be played at either Adelaide Oval or Gliderol Stadium at Glenelg. 

You can check out the full fixture list for the Strikers right here.