Cricket network logo

McGrath, Wellington and Brown named in WBBL|07 Team of the Season

22 November 2021

Tahlia McGrath, Amanda-Jade Wellington and Darcie Brown have been named amongst the WBBL best XI.

The Weber WBBL|07 Team of the Season has been named, with three Adelaide Strikers included in the competitions best XI.

A four-person selection panel of Mel Jones, Lisa Sthalekar, Shawn Flegler and Laura Jolly selected the side based on performances in the 56-game regular season.

Strikers captain Tahlia McGrath, leg-spinner Amanda-Jade Wellington and quick Darcie Brown were all selected in the competition's best XI for their standout seasons in WBBL|07. 

On the back of a dominant Australian campaign and in her first year as Strikers captain, Tahlia McGrath (264 runs, 10 wickets) stood up when required in the middle order. 

Leading from the front, the allrounder finished the regular season not out on five occasions, in addition to picking up a WBBL career-best 3/17 in the opening match of the tournament. 

Her Australian teammate Darcie Brown (15 wickets) brings searing pace and swing to the bowling attack of the Team of the Season. 

The 18-year-old claimed the WBBL's sixth ever hat-trick (and first by an Adelaide Striker) picking up three of the Brisbane Heat's biggest stars and highlighting an electric season by the young gun. 

Amanda-Jade Wellington locked away her place in the spin-bowling department with 16 wickets (from 14 innings) to her name. 

Wellington showed why she is one of the WBBL's best spinners, navigating 2/12 under pressure against the Perth Scorchers at Lilac Hill, demonstrating composure under pressure well beyond her 24 years. 

Shawn Flegler, CA’s Head of Performance, Women’s Cricket, said:

“The Weber WBBL|07 Team of the Season is a side that would be extremely competitive in any T20 match across the world.

“This team features a powerful batting line up, fearsome fast bowling and skilful spinners, not to mention two world-class all-rounders from overseas in Sophie Devine and Harmanpreet Kaur.

“Alongside them, it is pleasing to see seven members of Australia’s CommBank Series squad that defeated India back up and perform to this level throughout the Weber WBBL|07 season.

“We congratulate all players on their success throughout the season which has earned them selection in this merit team and wish all who are taking place in the Finals series the best of luck”


Sophie Devine (Perth Scorchers, captain, international)

Beth Mooney (Perth Scorchers)

Georgia Redmayne (Brisbane Heat, wicket-keeper)

Harmanpreet Kaur (Melbourne Renegades, international)

Grace Harris (Brisbane Heat)

Tahlia McGrath (Adelaide Strikers)

Jess Jonassen (Brisbane Heat)

Amanda-Jade Wellington (Adelaide Strikers)

Hannah Darlington (Sydney Thunder)

Tayla Vlaeminck (Hobart Hurricanes)

Darcie Brown (Adelaide Strikers)

Coach: Simon Helmot


Mel Jones, CA Director, Fox Cricket commentator

Lisa Sthalekar, Seven commentator

Shawn Flegler, CA Head of Performance, Women’s Cricket

Laura Jolly, Women’s Cricket Editor