Cricket network logo

WBBL Strikers to feature in Governor-General’s XI

19 January 2016
Bridget Patterson

Four members of the WBBL Adelaide Strikers are set to feature in the inagural Governor-General’s XI T20 match against the touring Indian women’s team this Friday 22 January at Sydney’s Drummoyne Oval.

Strikers’ bowlers Alex Price and Amanda Wellington have been named alongside batters Bridget Patterson and Tahlia McGrath in the 12-player squad, announced today by the Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd) and Cricket Australia’s Women’s National Selection Panel.

Governor-General’s XI squad

  1. Jess Jonassen (QLD/Heat) (C)
  2. Sarah Beard (Australian Defence Force)
  3. Holly Ferling (QLD/Heat)
  4. Grace Harris (QLD/Heat)
  5. Delissa Kimmince (QLD/Heat)
  6. Tahlia McGrath (SA/Strikers)
  7. Sophie Molineux (Vic/Renegades)
  8. Beth Mooney (QLD/Heat)
  9. Bridget Patterson (SA/Strikers)
  10. Alexandra Price (SA/Strikers)
  11. Molly Strano (Vic/Renegades)
  12. Amanda-Jade Wellington (SA/Strikers)

The Governor-General congratulated the players on being selected for the inaugural team.

“2016 has been a great summer of women’s cricket and this group of players have been a big part of that.

“Being selected in the Governor-General’s XI gives these cricketers the opportunity to test their mettle  against India’s best. I am sure this match will be a great experience for all who come to cheer them on,” the Governor-General said.

Commenting on the squad chosen, Women’s National Selection Panel Chairman Shawn Flegler said:  “This inaugural Governor-General’s XI match is a very special occasion on the Australian cricket calendar and will become an important step in our efforts to make cricket the sport of choice for girls and women around the country.

“We have chosen a young, talented squad for this match, led by Jess Jonassen who over the last 12 months has developed into a genuine and match-winning all-rounder.

“She will be joined by her national teammates Holly Ferling, Grace Harris and Beth Mooney who will all gain valuable experience against India ahead of the limited-overs series beginning on Australia Day.

“We will also watch with interest the performances of a number of emerging players like Molly Strano, Sophie Molineux and Amanda-Jade Wellington. These players have all impressed over the course of the WBBL season and we look forward to seeing how they perform against an experienced Indian line-up.

“We congratulate the players on their selection for this important match following strong domestic performances this summer.

“We look forward to developing this annual fixture into a truly great Australian sporting tradition and are honoured to do so with the support of the Governor-General,” Flegler said.

The Governor-General’s XI will also recognise the important role cricket plays in the armed services. Able Seaman Sarah Beard has been selected in the side following her outstanding performances in the recent International Defence Cricket Challenge in Canberra.

The Governor-General’s XI fixture comes at an important time for women’s cricket in Australia. The national women’s team, the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars are ranked number one in Test, one-day international and Twenty20 cricket, while this season has seen the launch of the eight-team Rebel Women’s Big Bash League that is designed to create a clear participation pathway for girls and their families.

The Governor-General’s XI will assemble in Sydney on Thursday whereby they will attend a reception hosted by the Governor-General at Sydney’s Admiralty House.

Entry to the Governor-General’s XI v India match is free with play commencing at 3.00pm, Friday 22 January at Drummoyne Oval, Sydney.

Those unable to make it to the match can watch it live and free on or via the Official Cricket Australia Live app.