Cricket network logo

WBBL Final preview: Heat v Strikers

07 December 2019

The Strikers have qualified for their first ever WBBL Final

The Adelaide Strikers will compete in their maiden rebel WBBL Final on Sunday against the Brisbane Heat at Allan Border Field, sticking with the same 13-player squad from Saturday's semi.

Heat v Strikers
Sunday 8 December
Allan Border Field, Brisbane – 1:40pm local (2.10pm ACDT)
Live on 7 Mate, Fox Cricket and Kayo

Head to head
Adelaide Strikers: 3
Brisbane Heat: 7

Last time
The two teams traded blows in Mackay early in WBBL|05 with the Strikers taking honours under lights on Saturday night before the Heat hit back in the second clash on Sunday morning. Heat opener Beth Mooney proved the difference in the most recent clash with an unbeaten 77 steering her side home to the target total with 17 balls to spare.

Last time we met the Heat

Talking point
Who will perform on the WBBL’s biggest stage? There’s no need to hold back when it comes to the final game of the season with everything on the line. Some players relish the pressure when the spotlight comes on and both the Strikers and Heat have no shortage of match-winners who can stand tall on any given day. Who will make the WBBL|05 Final their moment?

Stat attack
Sophie Devine continues to rack up the records in WBBL|05 and another is well within her reach in the WBBL Final. Her unbeaten 65* lifts her to 764 runs for the season - only 13 shy of Ellyse Perry’s series runs record of 777 from WBBL|04. You’d be brave to bet against the Kiwi allrounder reaching that milestone on Sunday.

Striker to watch – Sophie Devine
At the risk of sounding repetitive, Devine’s influence just simply cannot be ignored. She sets the tone for the Strikers at the top of the order and also impacts with ball in hand. Devine seems made for the finals stage.

Danger player – Grace Harris
Harris is a player with genuine ‘X factor’ who can change the momentum of a match within a few balls. She hammered 43 runs from just 27 deliveries in the Heat’s semi-final victory over the Melbourne Renegades with six boundaries and a scary strike rate of 159.26.

Adelaide Strikers WBBL Final squad
Suzie Bates (c)
Sophie Devine
Tahlia McGrath
Darcie Brown
Bridget Patterson
Katie Mack
Annie O’Neil
Tegan McPharlin
Sarah Coyte
Amanda-Jade Wellington
Alex Price
Megan Schutt
Ellie Falconer

Brisbane Heat WBBL Final squad
Kirby Short (c)
Beth Mooney
Grace Harris
Jess Jonassen
Sammy-Jo Johnson
Maddy Green
Mikayla Hinkley
Delissa Kimmince
Laura Harris
Amelia Kerr
Courtney Sippel
Georgia Prestwidge
Charli Knott