Cricket network logo

Unchanged squad for Faith Thomas Trophy defence

10 January 2019

Tahlia McGrath wearing last season's Indigenous top in Alice Springs.

The Adelaide Strikers have named an unchanged 13-player squad to for back-to-back clashes against against the Perth Scorchers this weekend.

After two victories over the Hobart Hurricanes at home, which included an unbeaten 99 (plus 16 in a super over) from Sophie Devine on Tuesday and a match-winning 65 from Tahlia McGrath on Wednesday, the Strikers have stuck with their winning squad.

The Strikers will be looking to retain the Faith Thomas Trophy with a win on Saturday, the prize named after the first Aboriginal woman to play Test cricket for Australia.

Both teams will wear specially designed Indigenous playing tops, to pay their respects to the traditional land-owners of Alice Springs.

Sophie Devine's viral #headbandchallenge will be the biggest yet, with the Strikers donating $100 to charity partner Cancer Council SA and $100 to Youth Diabetes NZ for each player who wears a headband.

With a potential $4400 split between two charities, this takes the tally to over $6000 donated through the challenge initiated by the big-hitting Kiwi.

Two wins on the weekend mean the Strikers are a possibility to qualify for finals, provided other results to go their way.

Matches will take place at Albrecht Oval in Alice Springs from 9:30am on both Saturday and Sunday. Entry is free and games will be live-streamed on and via the CA Live app.

13-player squad
Suzie Bates (c)
Sophie Devine
Megan Schutt
Tahlia McGrath
Katelyn Pope
Danielle Hazell
Sarah Coyte
Tegan McPharlin
Bridget Patterson
Alex Price
Amanda-Jade Wellington
Tabatha Saville
Samantha Betts