Cricket network logo

Trio earn national contracts

11 April 2018

Three Adelaide Strikers have earned national contracts for 2018-19 from Cricket Australia.

Athletic wicketkeeper Alex Carey has been added to the Australian contract list for the first time, joining Strikers captain Travis Head and towering paceman Billy Stanlake.

Carey made his debut for Australia in a one-day international against England in January and went on to play five T20 internationals after a breakout BBL|07 with the Strikers.

Head, 24, has featured in 34 ODIs and 10 T20Is for Australia and led Adelaide to its inaugural BBL title last summer in his first season as skipper.

The best bits of Travis Head's BBL|07 campaign

Young quick Stanlake took eight wickets in five matches during Australia’s T20I tri-series victory against England and New Zealand and was a key contributor of the Strikers’ run to the BBL final.

National Selector Trevor Hohns said he felt the squad was a “well-balanced list to represent Australia across all three formats” encompassing Test, one-day and T20 cricket.

“This period is set to include a significant amount of limited-overs cricket, including the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in England and Wales," he said.

“For that reason, there has been a bit of a focus in this contracting period on white-ball cricket, as we look ahead to trying to win back-to-back World Cups.”

Players not awarded contracts as part of the initial squad of 20 can earn upgrades throughout the year by accruing 12 upgrade points. Players receive five points for a Test, two for an ODI and one for a T20I.

Megan Schutt and Amanda-Jade Wellington also received CA women’s contracts for 2018-19 earlier this week.

2018-19 CA Men’s Contract List
Ashton Agar
Alex Carey
Pat Cummins
Aaron Finch
Peter Handscomb
Josh Hazlewood
Travis Head
Usman Khawaja
Nathan Lyon
Glenn Maxwell
Shaun Marsh
Mitchell Marsh
Tim Paine
Matthew Renshaw
Jhye Richardson
Kane Richardson
Billy Stanlake
Mitchell Starc
Marcus Stoinis
Andrew Tye