Cricket network logo

Three Strikers named in BBL|09 Team of the Tournament

03 February 2020

Peter Siddle and Rashid Khan are among three Strikers in the KFC BBL|09 Team of the Tournament

Three Adelaide Strikers have been included in the KFC BBL|09 Team of the Tournament.

Leg-spinner Rashid Khan, reliable seamer Peter Siddle and consistent batsman Jon Wells were all selected in the XI recognising this summer’s top performers.

Rashid was included for a third consecutive season, with previous sides chosen by the editorial team from, while Siddle and Wells feature for the first time.

This is the first ‘official’ BBL Team of the Tournament compiled collectively based on votes from all eight BBL coaches.

Rashid continues to enhance his reputation as one of the world’s top T20 players.

The 21-year-old finished the home and away season ranked third in the competition for wickets (18) boasting the best economy rate (7.24) of BBL|09’s top four wicket-takers. His 19 wickets in total, inclusive of Saturday night’s Knockout Final, equalled his own record set last summer for the most in a single season by a Striker.

Rashid's incredible hat-trick

Rashid became the first player in club history to claim a Big Bash hat-trick with his 4/22 against the Sydney Sixers the second-best BBL bowling figures in Adelaide’s history.

He also contributed important runs with the bat, smashing 124 runs from just 81 balls faced, including a near match-winning 40 on New Year’s Eve against the Sydney Thunder.

Siddle earned selection after excelling as a ‘death’ bowler for the Strikers in BBL|09.

Peter Siddle sends stumps flying

The 35-year-old claimed a personal-best 17 wickets through the regular season to rank fourth on the overall wicket-takers leaderboard. He added another two to his tally in Saturday night’s Knockout Final to share the club series record of 19 wickets alongside teammate Rashid.

Siddle’s economy of 7.35 through the home and away campaign stacked up strongly against other seamers this series, particularly given his role in bowling through the deciding overs of the match.

Middle-order batsman Wells backed up strong BBL|08 campaign with a career-best BBL|09.

He scored 444 runs through the regular season, ranked fourth in the competition, at an incredible average of 74 which includes seven unbeaten innings and four half-centuries.

Jon Wells carves up Renegades

Wells was dismissed for less than 20 just three times in his 14 innings and earned Player of the Match honours on three occasions, such was his influence.

His total run tally of 478, inclusive of Saturday night’s Knockout Final, is the most by a Striker in any BBL series in club history and has Wells currently third on the BBL|09 runscorers' leaderboard.

It’s the second consecutive season Wells has finished as Adelaide’s leading BBL runscorer.

Adelaide and minor premiers the Melbourne Stars were the most represented clubs in this season’s Team of the Tournament with three players each, while the Perth Scorchers had two players included.


Marcus Stoinis (Melbourne Stars)
Josh Inglis (wk, Perth Scorchers)
Matthew Wade (Hobart Hurricanes)
Glenn Maxwell (c, Melbourne Stars)
Jon Wells (Adelaide Strikers)
Mitchell Marsh (Perth Scorchers)
Tom Curran (Sydney Sixers)
Rashid Khan (Adelaide Strikers)
Daniel Sams (Sydney Thunder)
Peter Siddle (Adelaide Strikers)
Haris Rauf (Melbourne Stars)