Cricket network logo

Strikers trio included in KFC BBL|11 Team of the Tournament

24 January 2022

Three Adelaide Strikers have been named in the KFC BBL|11 Team of the Tournament, with Peter Siddle unanimously selected captain to punctuate another remarkable season in blue.

Voted on by the Head Coaches of all eight clubs, the official Team of the Tournament sees destructive batter Matt Short and magical leg-spinner Rashid Khan joining Siddle on the prestigious team sheet.

Strikers Head Coach Jason Gillespie is delighted to see such strong representation in the team from Adelaide and has heaped praise on his skipper.

‘Sids has done a brilliant job after taking on the captaincy in the absence of Trav and Kez, and he continues to show why he has had such a long and successful career at the highest levels. He has such a positive impact on our group through his leadership, and to also lead the competition for wickets taken shows just how valuable he is. Sids is extremely deserving of this honour.’

The numbers speak for themselves when it comes to Siddle’s season, but as is so often the case, they don’t tell the full story. Taking the field in every Strikers fixture, the always-smiling veteran has delivered one ball shy of 60 overs in the competition and removed 29 batters at an average of 17.37, enough to comfortably place him at the top of the tree for wickets taken.

BBL|11 has called on Siddle to do much more than charge in and send opposition batters back to the pavilion however, he has led the side faultlessly through a difficult beginning and helped orchestrate a rise from the lowest rung of the ladder to consecutive Finals victories, with two more in his sights. The stunning turnaround in fortunes for the Strikers is a triumph of every member of the team, but Siddle’s willingness to lead and calmness under pressure will long be remembered as a special performance.

Gillespie also discussed the rise of Matt Short, who has not only dominated in his role with the bat but has also delivered a crucial 15 overs to take eight wickets for an economy rate of less than seven.

‘Over the last few years with the Strikers, Shorty has fulfilled a number of roles to help the team out. This season he has had the opportunity of a consistent role in the top order, something he has thrived at. Shorty has been selfless in recent years, always putting the team first. We are so delighted that he has done so well in the openers role this season. To then also contribute with ball in hand, often bowling powerplay overs, just makes Shorty invaluable to the team.’

It is of course with bat in hand that Short has wowed crowds this season, with the devastating right hander currently sitting second in the tournament for runs scored with 487 at an average of 34.78 and strike-rate of 156.08. Three half centuries, a highest score of 89 and a remarkable 26 sixes and 35 fours highlight Short’s season, and with the Challenger Final against Sydney Sixers to come Wednesday night, he will be looking to continue this form into a second BBL Grand Final for the Strikers.

Finally, Gillespie grins as he speaks of the impact Afghanistan international Rashid Khan has on the Strikers, and the competition as a whole.

‘And of course, Rash is Rash. The greatest T20 player of the last decade for a reason. The incredible six wicket haul to finish his season in blue was a truly special moment that we will remember fondly forever. He is a joy to be around, and we are so lucky to have him in Adelaide.’

Despite playing just 11 games this season before departing for national duty, Rashid took 20 wickets from his 44 overs at the incredible average of 13.95. The performance that will reside in memories forevermore will be his final appearance in blue during BBL|11, coincidently also his 300th career T20 fixture. Facing Brisbane Heat in a game the Strikers simply had to win, Rashid took his greatest ever figures of 6/17 to ensure he departed Australian shores on a winning note, leaving behind smiling fans across the country.

The Strikers now turn their attention to a blockbuster clash against Sydney Sixers at the SCG on Wednesday night, with the winner destined to battle Perth Scorchers for the title on Friday night.

KFC BBL|11 Team of the Tournament

Ben McDermott
Josh Philippe (wk)
Joe Clarke
Mitchell Marsh
Matt Short
Moises Henriques
Daniel Sams

Rashid Khan
Hayden Kerr
Andrew Tye
Peter Siddle (c)

X-Factor Subs

Sean Abbott
Jason Sangha