Cricket network logo

Strikers set for IPL showdown

04 April 2018

A few familiar faces could go toe-to-toe when this year’s Indian Premier League tournament kicks off this weekend.

Three Adelaide Strikers are set to feature in this year’s IPL competition.

Newly re-signed leg-spinner Rashid Khan will be one to watch after he was retained by 2016 champions Sunrisers Hyderabad for $1.7 million (AUD) in January’s lucrative IPL auction.

Rashid claimed 17 wickets in 14 games in his debut IPL campaign last year at an impressive economy rate of 6.62.

The teenager will be joined by fellow Strikers teammate Billy Stanlake in orange this season after crossing over from Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Stanlake, who has also re-committed to the Strikers on a new long-term deal, took two wickets in his IPL debut against the Delhi Daredevils last year.

The pair could confront fellow Strikers bowler Ben Laughlin in their opening match against the Rajasthan Royals on Monday night.

Laughlin previously played two IPL matches for the Chennai Super Kings and was selected by Sunrisers Hyderabad last season but did not play a game.

The clash begins at 8:00pm local at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad or midnight ACST on Monday, 9 April.

Reigning champions the Mumbai Indians take on the Super Kings in the IPL tournament opener on Saturday, 7 April at Wankhede Stadium.

The final will take place on 27 May with 60 matches, including four playoffs, scheduled in the six-and-a-half week competition.


Good first hit out last night getting rid of some jet lag!

A post shared by billystanlake (@billystanlake) on