Cricket network logo

Strikers set for internal trial

28 November 2018

Tahlia McGrath will captain a side for the internal trial match on Thursday.

The Adelaide Strikers will play an internal trial match on Thursday morning, for their first hitout as a team before rebel WBBL|04.

Starting from 10am at Karen Rolton Oval, Team McGrath will take on Team Bates, with the sides captained by Tahlia McGrath and Suzie Bates respectively.

Pace-bowler Megan Schutt will be a notable absence as she attends a celebration parade in Melbourne following the Australian Women’s Cricket Team’s title-winning ICC World T20 campaign.

England’s Danielle Hazell is yet to arrive in Adelaide, while New Zealander Sophie Devine will be appearing at the WBBL season launch at Melbourne’s CitiPower Centre.

The remaining places across the two teams will be filled by Statewide Super SA Scorpions players and State Under 18 girls.

Head coach Andrea McCauley is keen to have the majority of the group together for the first time.

“Suzie Bates arrives tonight (Wednesday) in Adelaide so it will be her first run with the group and Sarah Coyte arrived earlier this week, so it’s very important to have that first hitout with as many players as we can,” McCauley said.

“It’s a great opportunity for the young girls to be involved as well and to be around some of the more senior players and get that valuable experience.”

Where: Karen Rolton Oval (enter via Glover avenue)
When: 10am, Thursday 29 November

Public entry is free!

Team McGrath: Tahlia McGrath (c), Bridget Patterson, Sarah Coyte, Samantha Betts, Alex Price, Kelly Armstrong (Scorpions), Katie Rowe (Northern Districts), Bella Smith (Kensington), Emma de Broughe (Sturt), Bec Cady (Sturt/Penrith, NSW), Rachel Church (Kensington).

Team Bates: Suzie Bates (c), Amanda-Jade Wellington, Tabatha Saville, Tegan McPharlin, Eliza Doddridge, Katelyn Pope, Ellie Falconer, Brooke Harris (Scorpions), Shae Daly (Scorpions), Annie O’Neil (Scorpions), Sophie Roberts (Northern Districts).