Cricket network logo

Two Strikers retain Aussie contracts

05 April 2018

Amanda-Jade Wellington celebrates a wicket in the Commonwealth Bank Women's Ashes Test match

Megan Schutt and Amanda-Jade Wellington have been awarded Cricket Australia contracts for the 2018-19 season, while Tahlia McGrath has been given a place in the National Performance Squad.

Schutt, 25, has had a standout year, being named Player of the Series in the recent women’s tour of India and being elevated to the top of the ICC rankings for T20I bowling.

Twenty-year-old legspinner Wellington has been given her second national contract after an outstanding 2017-18 season, which included a Test debut and a maiden century at State level.

McGrath, 22, joins the National Performance Squad, made up of a host of exciting young cricketers set to spend precious time at the Bupa National Cricket Centre in Brisbane, learning and training under High Performance Coach Leah Poulton.

Having played in last year’s Commonwealth Bank women’s Ashes series, McGrath is currently nursing a back injury, which first developed prior to the ICC Women’s World Cup in England, forcing her to miss out on final squad selection.

2018-19 CA Women’s Contract List
Nicole Bolton (WA, 29)
Nicola Carey (NSW, 24)
Ashleigh Gardner (SA, 20)
Rachael Haynes (NSW, 31)
Alyssa Healy (NSW, 28)
Jessica Jonassen (QLD, 25)
Delissa Kimmince (QLD, 28)
Meg Lanning (VIC, 26)
Sophie Molineux (VIC, 20)
Beth Mooney (QLD, 24)
Ellyse Perry (NSW, 27)
Megan Schutt (SA, 25)
Elyse Villani (WA, 28)
Amanda-Jade Wellington (SA, 20)

2018 Women’s National Performance Squad (NPS)
Lauren Cheatle (NSW, 19)
Piepa Cleary (WA, 21)
Josephine Dooley (QLD, 18)
Erin Fazackerley (TAS, 19)
Heather Graham (WA, 21)
Saskia Horley (NSW, 18)
Belinda Vakarewa (NSW, 20)
Tayla Vlaeminck (VIC, 19)
Georgia Wareham (VIC, 18)
Tahlia McGrath (SA, 22)
Maitlan Brown (ACT, 20)
Annabel Sutherland (VIC, 16)
Rachel Trenaman (NSW, 16)