Cricket network logo

Strikers pair selected in Team of the Tournament

03 December 2019

Megan Schutt joins Sophie Devine in the WBBL|05 Team of the Tournament

Two Strikers have been included in the rebel WBBL|05 Team of the Tournament.

Player of the Tournament Sophie Devine and fast bowler Megan Schutt were named in the 11-player side recognising the top players of WBBL|05.

Devine, who was selected in the WBBL Team of the Tournament chosen by staff the previous two seasons, was a unanimous choice after a brilliant season.

The two-time Strikers Most Valuable Player hit a competition-high and club season record of 699 runs at an incredible average of 77.7 – the highest of any player to feature in more than 10 matches in WBBL|05.

Devine extended her lead as the WBBL’s all-time top six-hitter with another 28 this season and became the first Striker – female or male – to hit 2000 Big Bash runs.

She also claimed 16 wickets, ranked equal-second at the club this season, and won five Player of the Match awards from Adelaide’s 14 games.

Australian quick Schutt was the most economical bowler in the competition, conceding just 5.67 runs per over despite regularly bowling in the powerplay or at the death.

She took 13 wickets and bowled three maidens – a rarity in any T20 competition – and became the first Striker to claim 50 WBBL career wickets early in the season.

Schutt is second on the Strikers’ all-time WBBL wicket-takers leaderboard with 61 from 69 matches, only two behind teammate Amanda-Jade Wellington.

A seven-person expert panel selected the WBBL Team of the Tournament consisting of Head of Big Bash Leagues Alistair Dobson, Australia Women’s Team Head Coach Matthew Mott, former Australian Captain Belinda Clark, ABC commentator Alister Nicholson, journalist Laura Jolly and former players Lisa Sthalekar and Mel Jones.

The side was selected in line with WBBL playing conditions with a maximum of three overseas players.

Sophie Devine (Adelaide Strikers)

Beth Mooney (Brisbane Heat)
Danni Wyatt (Melbourne Renegades)
Meg Lanning (Perth Scorchers)
Ellyse Perry (Sydney Sixers)
Jess Duffin (Melbourne Renegades) (c)
Jess Jonassen (Brisbane Heat)
Marizanne Kapp (Sydney Sixers)
Molly Strano (Melbourne Renegades)
Megan Schutt (Adelaide Strikers)
Belinda Vakarewa (Hobart Hurricanes)