Cricket network logo

Strikers named in PM XI

15 October 2019

Peter Siddle has been named co-captain of the Prime Minister's XI

The Adelaide Strikers will have a strong influence in the Prime Minister’s XI’s upcoming Twenty20 clash with Sri Lanka later this month.

Strikers seamer Peter Siddle has been named co-captain of the squad which will be coached by Adelaide’s Jason Gillespie.

Young wicketkeeper-batsman Harry Nielsen has also been named in the 12-player squad, which will confront Sri Lanka at Canberra’s Manuka Oval on 24 October.

Siddle continues to shine in the T20 format after joining the Strikers two seasons ago. He’s claimed 17 wickets in 17 appearances in blue, including a match-defining 3/17 in the BBL|07 Final.

Young gun Nielsen recently signed a two-year deal with Adelaide after impressing in six BBL matches as a replacement player over the past two summers.

The 24-year-old struck an unbeaten 44 in the Strikers’ victory over Perth in the club’s final match of BBL|08.

Five players with international experience will feature in the T20 tune-up against Sri Lanka including Brisbane Heat’s Chris Lynn, Melbourne Renegades Championship player Dan Christian and Perth Scorchers signing Fawad Ahmed.

The clash has added interest given the lead-in to next year’s T20 World Cup.


2019-20 Prime Minister’s XI squad:
Harry Nielsen (SA)
Jordan Silk (TAS)
Chris Lynn (QLD)
Jason Sangha (NSW)
Dan Christian (VIC) – co-captain
Ben Cutting (QLD)
Chris Green (NSW)
Dan Fallins (NSW)
Peter Siddle (VIC) – co-captain
Djali Bloomfield (ACT)
Fawad Ahmed (VIC)
Daniel Leerdam (ACT) – 12th man
Jason Gillespie – Coach

The Prime Minister’s XI v Sri Lanka
Manuka Oval, Canberra
Thursday, 24 October at 7.10pm local