Five eye debut in blue | Adelaide Strikers - BBL
Cricket network logo

Five eye debut in blue

21 December 2017

New Strikers spinner Rashid Khan

Five players could make their debut in blue for the Adelaide Strikers in Friday night’s KFC BBL blockbuster against the Sydney Thunder at Adelaide Oval.

International signings Rashid Khan and Colin Ingram have been named in the 13-player squad for the club’s BBL|07 opener, which begins at 7.10pm on Friday evening.

Exciting leg-spinner Rashid is poised to play his maiden Big Bash match after impressing in Twenty20 tournaments across the globe. The 19-year-old Afghan claimed one wicket and was involved in two run-outs in the Strikers’ final practice match on Tuesday.

Explosive left-hander Ingram will also make his BBL debut after joining his teammates in Adelaide earlier this week. The South African was crowned England’s 2016 T20 Blast Player of the Year after scoring 502 runs for Glamorgan.

Former Australian Test bowler Peter Siddle is set to play his first game as a Striker. Injury sidelined the 33-year-old for the entire BBL|06 season with the Melbourne Renegades.

Fellow paceman and former Renegade Nick Winter has also been included in the squad, while powerful right-hander Jonathan Wells could make his club debut after six seasons with the Hobart Hurricanes.

The match will mark Travis Head’s first as captain of the Adelaide Strikers.

BBL|07 playing numbers

Allrounder Michael Neser wasn’t considered for selection as he continues his recovery from a broken finger.

“Michael suffered a fracture to his right ring finger while bowling for the Queensland Bulls in the Sheffield Shield game against Western Australia last month,” Sports Science and Sports Medicine Manager John Porter said.

‘He’s improved well since then and has made a full return to bowling and batting.

“He is expected to be back in rounds two or three of the Big Bash.”

The final XI will be named at the coin toss approximately 45 minutes before the start of play.

Strikers squad v Sydney Thunder
Travis Head (c)

Wes Agar

Alex Carey (wk)

Jono Dean

Colin Ingram

Rashid Khan

Ben Laughlin

Jake Lehmann

Peter Siddle

Billy Stanlake

Jake Weatherald

Jonathan Wells

Nick Winter

Adelaide Strikers v Sydney Thunder
Friday 22 December, Adelaide Oval, 7.10pm - Tickets available from Ticketek

Join the #strikeforce this summer!