Cricket network logo

Strikers duo retain Test squad spots

22 November 2018

Strikers pair Travis Head and Peter Siddle have retained their places in Australia’s Test squad for the opening two matches of the Domain Test series against India beginning at Adelaide Oval next month.

Newly re-signed captain Head, 24, made his debut against Pakistan in Dubai last month while Siddle returned for his first Test outings for Australia in almost two years.

Left-hand batsman Head impressed in his maiden Test, notching his first half-century and building a defiant partnership with Usman Khawaja to salvage a draw against the odds.

Siddle claimed three wickets in tough conditions for seam bowling in the UAE heat.

Travis Head highlights

Australian National selector Trevor Hohns said: “The 14-person squad has been selected for the Adelaide and Perth Test matches against India. The squad features a talented group of batsmen and bowlers who have displayed good form in the Sheffield Shield competition to date.

“We will select a final team of 12 prior to each Test, and the two remaining squad members will be released to get important match time in the Sheffield Shield. We believe all players chosen deserve their selection in the squad, and we’re confident given the opportunity all will apply themselves well against India.”

Victorians Marcus Harris and Chris Tremain are among several changes to the squad. Peter Handscomb has been recalled, while Usman Khawaja has been cleared to return from injury.

Striker Michael Neser, Matt Renshaw, Marnus Labuschagne, Jon Holland and Brendan Doggett were all omitted from the squad.

Australia’s 14-player squad for first two Domain Tests
Pat Cummins (New South Wales)
Aaron Finch (Victoria)
Peter Handscomb (Victoria)
Marcus Harris (Victoria)
Josh Hazlewood (VC - New South Wales)
Travis Head (South Australia)
Usman Khawaja (Queensland)
Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)
Mitch Marsh (VC – Western Australia)
Shaun Marsh (Western Australia)
Tim Paine (C - Tasmania)
Peter Siddle (Victoria)
Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)
Chris Tremain (Victoria)

First Domain Test - 6 December 2018

Australia v India
Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
10:30am Local Time

Second Domain Test - 14 December 2018
Australia v India
Perth Stadium, Perth
10:20am Local Time

Third Domain Test - 26 December 2018
Australia v India
MCG, Melbourne
10:30am Local Time

Fourth Domain Test – 3 January 2019
Australia v India
SCG, Sydney
10:30am Local Time