Cricket network logo

Siddle returns to extended squad

14 January 2021

Veteran Peter Siddle returns to the Strikers squad after missing against the Stars in Adelaide.

The evergreen quick, who has been brilliant in the tournament to date and is vying for the title of leading wicket-taker in KFC BBL|10, fractured his thumb when fielding a crunching drive off his own bowling against Melbourne Renegades last week. 


Siddle will complete a rigorous training session this evening at the MCG and be given every chance to prove his fitness ahead of the return fixture against the Stars.


Travis Head and Michael Neser remain with the Australian Men's Cricket Team. Rashid Khan farewelled the Adelaide Strikers faithful in the team's five-wicket win on Monday night, as he departs to Abu Dhabi for Afghanistan's ODI series against Ireland.
Play begins at 6:45pm (ACDT) on Friday, and the final XI and X-Factor substitutes will be announced at the pre-game bat-flip.

The Strikers are 5-5, and a win would boost them into the top three on the tournament standings.


Adelaide Strikers’ 17-player squad
Alex Carey (c)
Wes Agar
Danny Briggs 
Harry Conway
Ryan Gibson
Harry Nielsen
Liam O’Connor
Spencer Johnson
Matt Renshaw
Phil Salt
Liam Scott
Matt Short
Peter Siddle
Cameron Valente
Jake Weatherald
Jon Wells
Daniel Worrall 


In: Siddle

Out: Rashid Khan