Unchanged squad heads to Alice Springs | Adelaide Strikers - BBL
Cricket network logo

Unchanged squad heads to Alice Springs

11 January 2018

Tabatha Saville hits the winning runs for the Strikers against the Melbourne Stars on Tuesday.

The Adelaide Strikers arrived in the Northern Territory on Thursday with an unchanged 13-player squad for this weekend’s historic matches in Alice Springs against the Perth Scorchers.

The women will play games on both Saturday and Sunday, with Saturday being part of a KFC BBL double-header. It will be the first time W/BBL games have been played in the Northern Territory.

The women’s side are currently sitting in third place on the rebel WBBL ladder, after defeating the Melbourne Stars twice in the past week, with the second match playing out as a final-ball thriller.

A tight table however, makes every game an important one, with the Sydney Sixers, Strikers, Brisbane Heat and Perth Scorchers, all with five wins and three losses behind them.

Tabatha Saville, who was Tuesday's player of the match, will return to Alice Springs where her family are located and where she lived for 10 years from the age of seven.

"This is where sport began for me, especially cricket, and this is probably why it's so special for me to be back here," Saville said.

"The Strikers want to be leading the BBL in indigenous engagement as well and being in Alice is great to bring new fans and new participants into the game."

Saturday’s match begins at 10:50am local time and will be broadcast live and free on Channel 10, while Sunday’s game will begin at 4:30pm and can be live-streamed on cricket.com.au and mamamia.com.au.

Squad v Perth Scorchers

1. Suzie Bates (c)

2. Megan Schutt

3. Samantha Betts

4. Sophie Devine

5. Tabatha Saville

6. Amanda Wellington

7. Tegan McPharlin

8. Bridget Patterson

9. Katelyn Pope

10. Tammy Beaumont

11. Ellie Falconer

12. Tahlia McGrath

13. Alex Price