Squad named for return Hurricanes clash | Adelaide Strikers - BBL
Cricket network logo

Squad named for return Hurricanes clash

05 January 2017

An important battle looms at Adelaide Oval, and the same squad has been picked to halt the Hurricanes.

The Strikers will face the Hobart Hurricanes for the second time in a week when they host the men in purple on Friday night.

Needing a victory to keep their finals hopes alive, the Strikers will take an unchanged 13-man squad into their do-or-die clash at the Adelaide Oval.

At the half-way point of the tournament the Strikers are currently in seventh position, only two points behind the fourth placed Melbourne Renegades.

BBL|06 has been a very even competition to date, with a Strikers victory on Friday night meaning they will be right back in the mix for a finals spot.


Strikers v Hurricanes Match Highlights

The Strikers and Hurricanes met earlier this week, with Hobart cruising to victory in the 18th over.

Hodge (55) and Dunk (31 from 17) were impressive with the bat for the Strikers but some quality bowling from Christian (5-14) and Broad (1-17) kept Adelaide to a modest total of 143.

Short (60) and Paine (41) combined for a 105-run opening stand to completely take the game away from the Strikers.

The Hurricanes eventually passed the total with 14-balls to spare, for the loss of just two wickets.



Brad Hodge

At 42-years of age you could forgive the skipper for slowing down slightly, but Hodge has been simply brilliant in BBL|06.

He has amassed 174 runs in his four appearances to date at an average of 58, including two magnificent half-centuries.

If anyone can get the Strikers’ BBL|06 campaign back on track, it is this man!



D'arcy Short

The hard-hitting left-hander was at his destructive best on Monday night when the Hurricanes defeated the Strikers.

He smashed seven boundaries and three sixes on his way to 60 from 39 balls, his second half-century of BBL|06.

Dismissing Short early in the innings will be important for the Strikers’ bowling group, as they look to reverse Monday night’s result.


1. Brad Hodge (c)

2. Tom Andrews

3. Jono Dean

4. Ben Dunk

5. Travis Head

6. Chris Jordan 

7. Ben Laughlin

8. Jake Lehmann

9. Michael Neser

10. Liam O'Connor

11. Kieron Pollard

12. Billy Stanlake

13. Jake Weatherald




1. Tim Paine (c)

2. Dan Christian (vc)

3. Cameron Boyce 

4. George Bailey

5. Stuart Broad

6. Ben McDermott

7. Simon Milenko

8. Clive Rose

9. Kumar Sangakarra 

10. D'Arcy Short

11. Shaun Tait

12. Beau Webster

13. Jon Wells


Top Stories