Cricket network logo

Squad named for Australia Day match

25 January 2020

The Strikers complete their home and away campaign against the Hurricanes on Australia Day

The Adelaide Strikers have named the same 13 for Sunday’s Bushfire Appeal match against the Hobart Hurricanes at Adelaide Oval in the first ever KFC BBL match on Australia Day.

Sunday's game will raise funds for people directly affected by bushfires in Cudlee Creek and on Kangaroo Island. Donations can be made directly by clicking here with further information about the club’s relief efforts available here.

Strikers major partner People's Choice Credit Union has opened the batting for the appeal with a $50,000 donation, and they have also pledged $1500 for every six, $1000 for every four and $500 for every wicket by the Strikers in the game.

Signed player shirts from the game (plus rest of squad) are also included in a silent auction to raise vital funds for those affected.

The Strikers have now won four matches in a row and have secured a place in the top three after their 16-run win over the Perth Scorchers at Perth Stadium on Friday night.

The Strikers will lock in second place with a victory over the Hurricanes on Sunday.

Play begins in Adelaide at 6:40pm with the final XI to be announced at the pre-game bat flip.

Adelaide Strikers’ 13-player squad
Travis Head (c)
Wes Agar
Alex Carey
Harry Conway
Rashid Khan
Michael Neser
Liam O’Connor
Phil Salt
Matt Short
Peter Siddle
Billy Stanlake
Jake Weatherald
Jon Wells