Cricket network logo

Selection panel for WBBL Team of the Tournament confirmed

29 November 2019

Will any Strikers be selected in the WBBL|05 Team of the Tournament?

A seven-person selection panel has been named to select the official rebel WBBL|05 Team of the Tournament.

Cricket Australia on Friday confirmed Head of Big Bash Leagues Alistair Dobson, Australia Women’s Team Head Coach Matthew Mott, former Australian Captain Belinda Clark, ABC commentator Alister Nicholson and journalist Laura Jolly and former players Lisa Sthalekar and Mel Jones would form the panel to select the side.

A total of 12 players with a maximum of three overseas players will form the team as per competition playing conditions.

Head of Big Bash Leagues Alistair Dobson said it would be a tough task to select the 12-person team.

“This will be the first season we name an official Team of the Tournament and it’s exciting to be able to recognise the best performed players in the competition in this way,” he said.

“We’ve seen some incredible moments across the season and picking the top 12 players won't be an easy task."

The Team of the Tournament will be announced next week ahead of WBBL Finals Weekend, in which the Strikers have already qualified for.