Cricket network logo

Schutt claims rare hat trick in Mumbai

27 March 2018

Megan Schutt has become the first Australian woman to claim a T20I hat-trick after throwing India’s top-order into disarray in the fourth match of the T20I tri-series in Mumbai.

Having set the hosts 187 for victory, Schutt struck the first blow with the fifth ball of the second over of India’s chase when in-form India opener Smriti Mandhana was bowled, the ball ricocheting off her pads and onto the stumps.

Her dismissal brought Mithali Raj to the crease and an identical result followed, the veteran batter chopping on to be bowled for a first-ball duck and leave Schutt on a hat-trick at the start of the next over.

Both deliveries were well wide of the stumps before they were deflected onto the woodwork by the batter, with Schutt sheepishly giggling and putting her head in her hands in mock embarrassment as the wickets tumbled.

Bizarrely, Schutt had to wait longer than expected for her hat-trick ball; Australian captain Meg Lanning elected not to bring Schutt back to bowl the fourth over, instead handing the ball to Delissa Kimmince.

But Schutt returned from the other end to bowl the fifth over and with her first delivery - the hat-trick ball - she enticed a slog from Deepti Sharma, who only succeeded in picking out Amanda-Jade Wellington at mid-off, completing the historic feat and leaving India reeling at 3-26.

It’s the seventh hat-trick taken in women’s T20Is, while Schutt is only the second Australian, male or female, to achieve the feat in T20s alongside Brett Lee, who took a hat-trick against Bangladesh in 2007.  

Schutt is the third Australian woman to take a hat-trick in international cricket, joining Betty Wilson and Rene Farrell, who managed the feat in Test matches.

T20I tri-series
First T20I Australia defeated India by six wickets. 
Second T20I England defeated Australia by eight wickets. 
Third T20I England defeated India by seven wickets. 
Fourth T20I Australia v India, Brabourne Stadium, March 26
Fifth T20I Australia v England, Brabourne Stadium, March 28
Sixth T20I India v England, Brabourne Stadium, March 29
Final Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai, March 31