Cricket network logo

Schutt named for T20i series

12 September 2018

Strikers pace bowler Megan Schutt

Adelaide Strikers pace ace Megan Schutt has been named in a 13-player squad for a Commonwealth Bank T20 International series.

The Australian Women's Cricket Team will take on New Zealand in three matches, beginning in Sydney on 29 September, with Schutt leading a strong pace attack.

Schutt was in scintillating T20 form last season, becoming the first Australian woman to take a T20I hattrick. She was also elevated to number one in the ICC T20 bowling player rankings.

Strikers teammates Tahlia McGrath and Amanda-Jade Wellington will feature in a CA XI squad that will play one game each against New Zealand and Australia, as warm up fixtures for the national sides on 27 September.

McGrath is back to full fitness after suffering back issues at the tail end of last summer, while Wellington will continue to improve her form with both bat and ball after finishing WBBL|03 as the side’s equal-leading wicket-taker.

13-player Australia Women's Cricket Team Squad
1. Nicola Carey (Sydney Thunder)
2. Ashleigh Gardner (Sydney Sixers)
3. Rachael Haynes (vc) (Sydney Thunder)
4. Alyssa Healy (Sydney Sixers)
5. Delissa Kimmince (Brisbane Heat)
6. Meg Lanning (c) (Perth Scorchers)
7. Sophie Molineux (Melbourne Renegades)
8. Beth Mooney (Brisbane Heat)
9. Ellyse Perry (Sydney Sixers)
10. Megan Schutt (Adelaide Strikers)
11. Elyse Villani (Perth Scorchers)
12. Tayla Vlaeminck (Melbourne Renegades)
13. Georgia Wareham (Melbourne Renegades)

13-player CA XI squad
1. Nicole Bolton (c) (Perth Scorchers)
2. Maitlan Brown (Melbourne Renegades)
3. Lauren Cheatle (Sydney Sixers)
4. Josie Dooley (Brisbane Heat – U18 Rookie)
5. Heather Graham (Perth Scorchers)
6. Tahlia McGrath (Adelaide Strikers)
7. Naomi Stalenberg (Sydney Thunder)
8. Molly Strano (Melbourne Renegades)
9. Annabel Sutherland (Melbourne Stars)
10. Rachel Trenaman (Sydney Thunder)
11. Belinda Vakarewa (Sydney Thunder)
12. Amanda-Jade Wellington (Adelaide Strikers)

Commonwealth Bank Women’s T20 International Series Fixture
29 September: 1st T20, Australia v New Zealand, North Sydney Oval, Sydney
1 October: 2nd T20, Allan Border Field, Brisbane
5 October: 3rd T20, Manuka Oval, Canberra