Rashid leads Strikers re-signings | Adelaide Strikers - BBL
Cricket network logo

Rashid leads Strikers re-signings

27 February 2018

Rashid Khan will remain a Striker until at least the end of BBL|09 after signing a new deal with the club.

Adelaide’s leading wicket-taker in BBL|07, Rashid headlines a string of multi-year Strikers signings.

Paceman Billy Stanlake and allrounder Michael Neser have re-committed to the club for another three summers.

Championship players Ben Laughlin, Jake Lehmann and Liam O’Connor will all remain in blue until at least the end of BBL|09, while promising quick Wes Agar has also re-committed for a further two seasons.

Rashid, 19, was one of the most exciting and devastating players of the tournament in his debut Big Bash season.

The Afghan leg-spinner took 18 wickets at 13.83 boasting an economy of just 5.64 – the best of any player to bowl more than four overs in BBL|07.

Rashid Khan bowls Cameron Bancroft

He became the first player in Big Bash history to claim multiple wickets through their opening five matches and earned at least one wicket in all-but one of his 11 games.

A popular member of the playing squad, Rashid also finished top five in the BBL’s Player of the Tournament voting.

The teenager is the youngest male player to be ranked No.1 by the International Cricket Council in any form of the game and is currently the top-ranked ODI and T20I bowler in the world.

Stanlake, 23, produced his best Big Bash season to date in BBL|07.

The towering quick notched 11 wickets from 10 matches with a tidy economy rate of 6.47, menacing batsman with his bounce, aggression and sheer pace.

Billy Stanlake bowls Kevin Pietersen

Strikers’ BBL|03 MVP Neser claimed 13 wickets and stepped up on several occasions when required with the bat, including a career-best 40* against the Heat on New Year’s Eve.

Laughlin is the BBL’s all-time leading wicket-taker and became the first bowler to claim 50 wickets for Adelaide with 16 scalps last season.