Preview: Strikers v Scorchers | Adelaide Strikers - BBL
Cricket network logo

Preview: Strikers v Scorchers

08 February 2019

The Strikers end their BBL|08 campaign at home against the Perth Scorchers on Saturday

The Jason Gillespie Trophy is on the line when the Adelaide Strikers host the Perth Scorchers in the club’s final match of BBL|08.

Strikers v Scorchers
Saturday, 9 February
Adelaide Oval (2:30pm ACDT)

Head to head
Adelaide Strikers: 5
Perth Scorchers: 8

Last time
The Scorchers were too strong for the Strikers back on Boxing Day in Adelaide’s first outing at the new Optus Stadium.

On a spicy Perth pitch, the Scorchers’ fast bowling battery proved to be the difference with Jhye Richardson (3/7), Jason Behrendorff (2/16) and Andrew Tye (2/9) bowling the Strikers out for just 88 from 17.2 overs.

It was never enough as Adelaide succumbed to a seven-wicket loss.

Highlights from our last clash with the Scorchers

Talking point
A great deal of pride is on the line with both teams now out of finals contention in BBL|08.

The Jason Gillespie Trophy is also up for grabs with the Scorchers winning the Trophy for the first time in Alice Springs last summer.

Can the Strikers cover the loss of their leading runscorer for the season in Colin Ingram? The South African import has smashed 333 runs, including three half-centuries, in 13 matches this season but was cleared by the club to return home early to be with his young family.

The return of Travis Head certainly helps the Strikers’ cause in covering Ingram’s absence for Saturday afternoon’s contest.

Stat attack
Ben Laughlin is set to become the first player to feature in 50 BBL matches for the Strikers.

The BBL’s all-time leading wicket-taker, Laughlin played 25 matches for the Hobart Hurricanes before switching to the Strikers ahead of BBL|04.

Michael Neser is next in line for the most BBL matches by a Striker. The former Heat allrounder will have 49 Strikers games to his name after Saturday’s clash with the Scorchers.

Striker to watch – Travis Head
The captain is a welcome inclusion to the Strikers’ lineup after a breakout Test series against Sri Lanka where he scored his maiden Test century.

Head is the Strikers’ all-time leading Big Bash runscorer with a mammoth total of 1041 runs from 37 matches. The explosive left-hander has only played twice for the Strikers this season due to Australian commitments, but was on song in his last match at Adelaide Oval.

Head helped his side sink the Stars with an entertaining 43 off 31 balls - which included three consecutive sixes in a single over - in a timely reminder of his poise and power in the shortest format of the game.

Danger man – Ashton Turner
Explosive top-order batsman Ashton Turner has proven a match-winner for the Perth Scorchers, blasting 69 off 42 balls in their last win over the Melbourne Stars to earn Player of the Match honours.

The experienced right-hander has played 59 BBL matches for a total of 966 runs and knows how to clear the rope regularly.

His form was rewarded with selection in the Australian limited-overs squad for the upcoming Qantas Tour of India and he remains a threatening prospect who cannot be underestimated.

Adelaide Strikers squad
Travis Head (c)
Wes Agar
Alex Carey (wk)
Rashid Khan
Ben Laughlin
Michael Neser
Harry Nielsen
Liam O’Connor
Peter Siddle
Billy Stanlake
Cameron Valente
Jake Weatherald
Jon Wells

Perth Scorchers squad
Mitch Marsh (c)
Cameron Bancroft
Jason Behrendorff
Nathan Coulter-Nile
Liam Guthrie
Nick Hobson
Clint Hinchliffe
Josh Inglis
Matt Kelly
Michael Klinger
Sean Terry
Ashton Turner
Andrew Tye