Cricket network logo

Preview: Heat v Strikers

13 January 2020

Jon Wells continues to play an important role for the Strikers

After breaking a three-match losing streak in emphatic fashion at Adelaide Oval on Sunday, an unchanged Adelaide Strikers squad will be looking to capitalise on current form and take down the Brisbane Heat at the Gabba.

Heat v Strikers
Tuesday, 14 January
The Gabba – 2:40pm local (3:10pm ACDT)

Broadcast details
Televised live on Fox Cricket and Kayo
Radio broadcast via Macquarie and Crocmedia

Head to head
Adelaide Strikers: 5
Brisbane Heat: 4

Last time we met the Heat

Last time
It will be the first opportunity for the Strikers to take on the Heat in KFC BBL|09, however last time they met, the Heat’s Matt Renshaw blasted an unbeaten 90 from 50 balls to clinch a six-wicket win for the visitors at Adelaide Oval. The Strikers had Brisbane on the ropes at 3/18, but the visitors bounced back, with Renshaw guiding them to victory with eight balls to spare.

Talking point
Queenslander Ben Laughlin moved clubs for BBL|09 from Adelaide to Brisbane and the seam bowler already leads the Heat for most wickets with 10 from eight matches. Several Strikers batters will have valuable insights into his bowling techniques, although Laughlin will also be familiar with the strengths and weaknesses of his former teammates.

Stat attack
The Strikers have no fears heading to the Gabba. Interestingly, four of the five wins that the Strikers have secured over the Heat have been played in Brisbane with Adelaide undefeated at the Gabba in its BBL history.

Striker to watch – Jon Wells
Arguably the most consistent middle-order batter in the BBL, Jon Wells constructed yet another important innings under pressure on Sunday against the Renegades, compiling his third BBL|09 half-century. Small in stature, yet powerful, the right-hander can find (and clear) the boundary, while also being clever with his placement and playing to his batting strengths.

Wells enjoying career-best BBL season

Danger player – AB de Villiers
Set for his BBL debut and first match for the Heat, AB de Villiers is a serious threat with the bat. No stranger to T20 franchise cricket, de Villiers scored 443 runs at a strike-rate of 150 in his most recent Indian Premier League season, which included five innings of 50-plus. Known as a 360-degree player, the biggest challenge for the Strikers could be setting a field to such a dynamic batter.

Adelaide Strikers squad
Travis Head (c)
Wes Agar
Harry Conway
Rashid Khan
Michael Neser
Harry Nielsen
Liam O’Connor
Phil Salt
Matt Short
Peter Siddle
Billy Stanlake
Jake Weatherald
Jon Wells

Brisbane Heat squad
Chris Lynn (c)
Max Bryant
Joe Burns
Ben Cutting
Josh Lalor
Ben Laughlin
James Pattinson
James Peirson
Jack Prestwidge
Matthew Renshaw
Mitch Swepson
Mujeeb Ur Rahman
AB de Villiers