Cricket network logo

Pair picked for T20I series

08 November 2018

Billy Stanlake and Alex Carey

Adelaide Strikers duo Alex Carey and Billy Stanlake have been selected in Australia’s T20I squad for the upcoming Gillette T20I Series against South Africa and India.

The pair was picked as part of a 13-player squad ahead of the four-game series commencing on the Gold Coast on 17 November.

Carey, 27, has quickly become a mainstay in Australia’s white-ball setup since making his ODI debut for Australia in January earlier this year.

The wicketkeeper/batsman, who set a new Strikers record for the most BBL runs in a season in BBL|07, was named Australian T20I vice-captain in May and has already racked up 15 T20I appearances.

Stanlake, 24, has also featured in 15 T20I matches for Australia after making his debut in the format in February last year.

The towering paceman, who has taken 23 wickets in 15 T20I outings, re-committed to the Strikers on a multi-year deal in February.

Australia squad for T20I series v South Africa and India
Aaron Finch (c) – Melbourne Renegades

Alex Carey (vc) – Adelaide Strikers
Ashton Agar – Perth Scorchers
Jason Behrendorff – Perth Scorchers
Nathan Coulter-Nile – Perth Scorchers
Chris Lynn – Brisbane Heat
Glenn Maxwell – Melbourne Stars
Ben McDermott – Hobart Hurricanes
D`Arcy Short – Hobart Hurricanes
Billy Stanlake – Adelaide Strikers
Marcus Stoinis – Melbourne Stars
Andrew Tye – Perth Scorchers
Adam Zampa – Melbourne Stars

Gillette T20I FIXTURE:
November 17
Australia v South Africa
Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast
6:20pm (Local Time)

November 21
Australia v India
The Gabba, Brisbane
5:50pm (Local Time)

November 23
Australia v India
MCG, Melbourne
6:50pm (Local Time)

November 25
Australia v India
SCG, Sydney
6:50pm (Local Time)