Cricket network logo

New Strikers select numbers

13 October 2019

Captain Suzie Bates will again wear No.11 in WBBL|05

Adelaide’s new Strikers have confirmed their playing numbers for rebel WBBL|05.

International signings Stafanie Taylor (No.28) and Lauren Winfield (58) will wear two of the highest numbers in the current squad.

Taylor previously wore 24 during her time with the Sydney Thunder but dons No.7 as captain of the West Indies.

Experienced batter Winfield retains No.58 from her international career with England and which she also wore representing the Hobart Hurricanes. The right-hander previously held No.5 for the Brisbane Heat.

Only Kiwi allrounder Sophie Devine has a higher playing shirt number for the Strikers – her 77 was the number of her house address growing up as a subtle reminder of her roots.

Middle-order batter Katie Mack now has the lowest number, selecting No.2 which she also wears for the ACT Comets and donned in previous seasons with the Melbourne Stars.

Teenage pace bowler Darcie Brown (20) and batter Annie O’Neil (5) round out the side’s newcomers for WBBL|05, with the remainder of the squad retaining their playing numbers from last summer.

Full WBBL|05 fixture

Shirt numbers hold special meaning for many players at the club.

Captain Suzie Bates wears the 11 as a tribute to her mother, who was born on 11 March.

Sarah Coyte, a personal trainer, has a habit of doing everything in multiples of three and opted for No.15 (3x5).

Bridget Patterson’s 21 was the same number as Australian cricketing great Karen Rolton, while Amanda-Jade Wellington’s 10 is a throwback to her Australian Indoor days.

The Strikers begin their WBBL|05 campaign on Saturday, 19 October against the Melbourne Renegades at Adelaide’s Karen Rolton Oval. Entry is free.


Adelaide Strikers’ WBBL|05 playing numbers
2 – Katie Mack
3 – Ellie Falconer
5 – Annie O’Neil
7 – Tegan McPharlin
9 – Tahlia McGrath
10 – Amanda Wellington
11 – Suzie Bates (c)
12 – Alex Price
13 – Tabatha Saville
15 – Sarah Coyte
20 – Darcie Brown
21 – Bridget Patterson
27 – Megan Schutt
28 – Stafanie Taylor
58 – Lauren Winfield
77 – Sophie Devine