New faces named for WBBL opener | Adelaide Strikers - BBL
Cricket network logo

New faces named for WBBL opener

08 December 2017

Strikers captain Suzie Bates

The Adelaide Strikers have named their 13-player squad for the first two matches of rebel WBBL|03, with Suzie Bates, Rhiannon Dick and Annie O’Neil all a chance to make their Strikers debut this weekend.

New Zealand international Bates, former Sydney Sixer Dick and 18-year-old local O’Neil may get the opportunity to pull on the blue against the Hobart Hurricanes at Gliderol Stadium, Glenelg.

Both the Strikers and Hurricanes finished in the bottom two last season and will be fighting hard for redemption this year.

New Zealand international and new Strikers captain Suzie Bates is excited by the depth of talent in the squad.

“Tabatha Saville in particular is a really exciting player in Twenty20 cricket, with bat and ball, I think she can change the game,” Bates said.

“Then you’ve got Tahlia McGrath who this season is going to be even better than last season. With Soph (Devine) and I batting at the top of the order we know it’s really important that we score a lot of runs throughout the competition."

Strikers skipper Suzie Bates speaks on the eve of WBBL|03

The full squad came together for the first time on Tuesday, with assistant coach and former Striker Shelley Nitschke saying that Bates has slotted seamlessly into the playing group.

“In just a few days, the group are feeling really comfortable around Suzie and she has already brought some fantastic leadership to the squad,” said Nitschke, who came out of retirement to play in WBBL|01 and WBBL|02.

“I know she is really looking forward to getting stuck in and giving us the best chance we can to make finals this year.”

All WBBL matches (excluding double-headers) are free entry and can be live-streamed on the Cricket Australia Live app and at

Squad for first two matches v Hobart Hurricanes
1. Suzie Bates (c)
2. Megan Schutt
3. Samantha Betts
4. Sophie Devine
5. Tabatha Saville
6. Amanda Wellington
7. Tegan McPharlin
8. Bridget Patterson
9. Annie O’Neil
10. Tammy Beaumont
11. Rhiannon Dick
12. Tahlia McGrath
13. Alex Price


Hobart Hurricanes v Adelaide Strikers
Saturday 9 December, Gliderol Stadium (Glenelg Oval), 2pm, free entry

Adelaide Strikers v Hobart Hurricanes
Sunday 10 December, Gliderol Stadium (Glenelg Oval), 12pm, free entry