Cricket network logo

Michael Neser crowned Strikers' most valuable player

23 January 2014

Adelaide Strikers all-rounder, Michael Neser, has taken out the Adelaide Strikers Most Valuable Player Award for BBL|03.

In a tight race with opening batsman Michael Klinger, going down to the final game, ‘Ness’ sealed the award in last night’s one-run loss to the Melbourne Renegades.

Neser won the MVP Award on the back of his efforts with the bat last night, top scoring with 35 not out from just 24 balls, almost guiding the Strikers home.

During BBL|03, Neser was the Strikers most consistent performer.

In eight games, Ness shone as one of the Strikers leading wicket-takers, with 10 scalps at a strike rate of 14.10 and economy rate of 8.47. His most impressive bowling performance of the season was against the Sydney Thunder, when he finished with 3/24. He also was influential in the field with five catches and one run out.

Neser’s ability to contribute with the bat down the order was also crucial with 53 runs at a strike rate of 101.92.

In a tight vote count, Michael Klinger, Nathan Reardon and Strikers captain Johan Botha were in the mix until Neser’s performance last night.

Members of the Strikers match committee, coaching staff and one media representative voted on a 3-2-1 basis for each game. Game 1 against the Hobart Hurricanes was not included in the voting due to a wash out.

Neser was also awarded the Players Choice Award, which is voted on by Strikers squad members.


1) Michael Neser - 43 votes
2) Michael Klinger - 34 votes
3) Nathan Reardon - 26 votes
4) Johan Botha - 20 votes
4) Kane Richardson - 20 votes
6) Phil Hughes - 15 votes
6) Shakib Al Hasan - 15 votes
8) Shaun Tait - 14 votes
9) Jon Holland - 12 votes
10) Jono Dean - 6 votes