Cricket network logo

Match Report: Strikers v Thunder

03 January 2022

Déjà vu has struck the Strikers quickly in 2022, with a second loss against Sydney Thunder the opening result of the calendar year.

Despite again claiming the Bash Boost Point, Adelaide was unable to mark Henry Hunt’s BBL debut with a win as they fell 28 runs short in pursuit of the home side’s total.

Losing the toss and bowling first, as they did at Adelaide Oval on New Year’s Eve, the Strikers again struggled to find a way through the Thunder’s line-up, managing just four wickets by the 17 over mark. Peter Siddle and Wes Agar each claimed three, including two in two balls to finish the innings, but unfortunately for the Strikers, the damage had been done as they were set 173 for victory.

Ben Cutting was again explosive at the top of the order on his way to 34 from 25 deliveries, but it was fellow opener Matthew Gilkes that did the most damage with bat in hand. Smashing nine fours and three sixes, Gilkes dominated the opening stanza of the match with 93 from 57 to claim Player of the Match honours and three competition points for his team.

In response, the Strikers again lost wickets too regularly, beginning with Matt Short and Jake Weatherald who both found the boundary twice before returning to the pavilion. Debutant speedster Mohammad Hasnain was the architect of the duo’s demise, and when he also removed in-form batter Jon Wells in the same over, he became the first player in BBL history to claim three wickets in a debut over.

Matt Renshaw and Harry Nielsen showed some resistance with the blade as they each passed 30 at more than a run-a-ball, but a revolving door at the other end sealed the Strikers fate.

The Strikers now welcome Hobart Hurricanes to Adelaide Oval on Wednesday 5 January, with the clash beginning at 5.35pm local time.