Cricket network logo

Allround Strikers skittle Renegades

05 January 2021

The Adelaide Strikers have leapt to fourth position on the KFC BBL|10 ladder with a comprehensive 60-run victory over the Melbourne Renegades at Adelaide Oval.

After posting 5/171 from their 20 overs, the Strikers never looked threatened, skittling the Renegades for 111 in reply.

Jake Weatherald (51 from 25) and Ryan Gibson (43 not out) blasted the Strikers from a position of peril to one of strength.

The home side looked wobbly when Phil Salt (8) departed cheaply for the fifth time in eight knocks this summer before Matt Renshaw (35) and skipper Alex Carey (24) both holed out when appearing well set.

After Pakistani spinner Imad Wasim (2/13) applied the clamps, the Strikers lost 3/6 off 19 balls mid-innings and were teetering at 4/72 off 11 overs before Weatherald and Gibson joined forces.

The duo combined for 96 off 52 deliveries to completely change the temperature of the contest.

Weatherald was particularly savage on Josh Lalor as the Strikers slugged 62 off their last four overs to rip the momentum away from the Renegades.

Mackenzie Harvey (34) and Sam Harper (31) looked solid but it was always a tall order with leading run-scorer Shaun Marsh absent and captain Aaron Finch sent packing for a golden duck as the Renegades slumped to their seventh successive defeat.

Finch, who was run out off a deflection at the non-striker's end in the Renegades' recent loss to Perth, could count himself unlucky again, tickling a leg-side loosener off Harry Conway's first ball of the tournament which was smartly pouched by Alex Carey.

Carey took an even better catch - a tumbling effort off a high, swirling ball - to dismiss Harvey as the Renegades stumbled horribly, losing 9/44 from the moment Harper was bowled around his legs by tweaker Danny Briggs (2/17).

With the Renegades on the cusp of securing the Bash Boost point at the tenth over, Briggs intervened taking a highly impressive 1/1, locking away maximum points for the Strikers. 

Veteran Peter Siddle (3/16) mopped up late, while fellow speedster Wes Agar (3/23) moved to the head of the BBL's wicket-taking leaderboard.