Cricket network logo

BBL|10 Preview: Strikers v Stars

10 January 2021

The Strikers and Stars will go head-to-head in consecutive fixtures, beginning at Adelaide Oval on Monday night.



Strikers: 6


Stars: 5


Last time they met


Heading into their last game with five wins apiece, the Strikers broke the stalemate, victorious by 11 runs at Adelaide Oval. Jon Wells was a well-deserved player of the match, putting on a half-century, although Peter Siddle was unlucky to miss out after picking up 4/33 including the always dangerous Marcus Stoinis. 


Daniel Worrall and Billy Stanlake both appeared, however wearing opposite colours after being traded ahead of this season. 


Talking point 


The Adelaide forecast is heating up and so is the BBL|10 competition. The Strikers and Stars are two sides who are unbeatable at their best and are both currently tousling for top five standing.


Monday night will mark the final appearance of Rashid Khan this season, with the leg-spinner recalled for national duties with Afghanistan. Playing his 50th game in Strikers colours, Rash will take on the Stars as Adelaide’s all-time leading wicket-taker, and will no doubt electrify Adelaide Oval one more time before his departure. 


With the mercury due to hit the high 30's and the season sizzling at this time of year, this is sure to be a fierce and fiery contest on the Strikers home deck.  


Striker to watch – Danny Briggs


Briggs. Briggsy. The Brigatoni. Whatever you want to call him, the spin wizard is settling into the BBL and making his mark on the competition. The Englishman single handily saved the Bash Boost point in the Strikers first hit out with the Renegades and has proved he can restrict runs where required. The most dangerous bowler in English T20 history, Briggs is making himself right at home at Adelaide Oval. 


Danger player – Marcus Stoinis 


Few players love the big stage more than Marcus Stoinis. Last season’s highest runscorer, Stoinis is back in fine form in BBL|10. With the Stars currently sitting in 7th position, and desperately chasing a top five finish, the all-rounder will need to put runs on the board if the Stars are to be competitive this season. 


Where to watch 


Watch live on Channel 7, Fox Cricket and Kayo from 6:45pm ACDT. 




Tickets are available via Ticketek and must be pre-purchased prior to arrival. 


Adelaide Strikers squad:

Alex Carey (c)
Wes Agar
Danny Briggs 
Harry Conway
Ryan Gibson
Harry Nielsen
Liam O’Connor
Spencer Johnson
Rashid Khan
Matt Renshaw
Phil Salt
Liam Scott
Matt Short
Cameron Valente
Jake Weatherald
Jon Wells
Daniel Worrall 


Melbourne Stars squad: