Cricket network logo

BBL|10 Preview: Strikers v Sixers

02 January 2021

The Adelaide Strikers look to bounce back up against the Sydney Sixers on Sunday night at Metricon Stadium.



Strikers: 5


Sixers: 8


Last time they met


The Sixers were victorious when these two sides met a fortnight ago, thanks to some impressive batting from a pair of Dan’s (Hughes and Christian). Despite the best efforts of Jon Wells (36 not out), the Strikers struggled to replicate a similar innings, falling 38 runs short of the mark at Blundstone Arena. 


Talking point


As BBL|10 turns towards the halfway mark, each win becomes more vital than the last. The Strikers currently sit at an equal three wins & three losses while the Sixers haven’t dropped a game since their season opener against the Hurricanes. 


Despite a disappointing end to 2020, going down to the Scorchers on New Year's Eve, the great thing about BBL is that the next opportunity comes around quickly. The Strikers will be keen to right the wrongs from their last meeting and start the new year off on a high, spoiling the Sixers winning streak. 


Striker to watch – Alex Carey


Fresh off of his highest score so far this tournament, Alex Carey is one of the most reliable Strikers to date. His 82 runs on New Year’s Eve pushed him into second position on the all-time highest runscorers in blue, behind only his former opening partner, Jake Weatherald. The vice-captain is currently leading the side in the absence of Travis Head, and you would be hard pressed to find a player more determined to win games for his side than Alex Carey. 


Danger player – Dan Christian


Dan Christian was the difference for the Sixers when these two last met, smacking 50 from 16 deliveries, producing the second fastest half-century in the BBL. Christian’s blistering knock changed the game for the Sydney side and the Strikers bowling attack will be focused on ensuring the right-hander doesn't have the same opportunity this time around. 


Where to watch


Watch live on Channel 7, Fox Cricket and Kayo from 6:45pm ACDT. 


Adelaide Strikers squad:


Alex Carey (c)
Wes Agar
Danny Briggs 

Harry Conway

Ryan Gibson
Harry Nielsen
Liam O’Connor
Spencer Johnson

Rashid Khan
Matt Renshaw
Phil Salt
Liam Scott
Matt Short

Peter Siddle
Cameron Valente
Jake Weatherald
Jon Wells

Daniel Worrall 


Sydney Sixers squad: