Cricket network logo

WBBL|06 Preview: Strikers v Thunder

20 November 2020

The Adelaide Strikers fight to keep their rebel WBBL06 finals hopes alive, taking on the Sydney Thunder on Saturday afternoon.



Strikers: 5


Thunder: 5 


Last time they met


The Strikers were forced to attempt their largest run-chase in WBBL history after the Sydney Thunder set a huge 190-run total when these two sides met earlier in the tournament. A massive effort from Heather Knight (83) helped to guide the Thunder to the substantial score, and despite the best efforts of Sarah Coyte with the ball (3/32) the Strikers struggled to chase down the hefty total set for them.  


Talking point 


In a season (and a year) that has simultaneously seemed incredibly long and exceptionally fleeting, we have made it to the final week of the regular season. In a tournament that has been far from normal, we have seen bio-security bubbles, Year 12 graduations within the hub and a record number of matches abandoned due to rain in one of the sunniest states in Australia. With two matches remaining and currently sitting sixth on the ladder, the Strikers will need to be on their game if they want to reclaim a top four position. 


Striker to watch – Megan Schutt 


The stand-in skipper this season, Schutt has led from the front, setting the standard as she so often does. Taking the reins after Suzie Bates went down with a shoulder injury, Schutt has continued to galvanise the group, keeping the Strikers finals hopes alive this season. The skipper has claimed 11 wickets so far in WBBL06 - including best figures of 3/7. The Strikers have two must win games ahead, and if there's anyone who knows how to rise to the occasion, it's Megan Schutt.  


Danger player – Sam Bates 


The current leading wicket-taker for the Thunder, Sam Bates also has the best bowling economy of any of her teammates. The spinner has claimed the likes of Sophie Devine, Georgia Wareham and Grace Harris so far this season, and was responsible for the wicket of Tahlia McGrath the last time these two teams met. 


Where to watch 


Live on Kayo and from 2:00pm ACST. 


Adelaide Strikers squad: 


Megan Schutt (c)
Darcie Brown
Sarah Coyte
Katie Mack
Tahlia McGrath
Tegan McPharlin
Annie O'Neil
Bridget Patterson
Madeline Penna
Alex Price
Stafanie Taylor (WI)
Amanda-Jade Wellington
Laura Wolvaardt (SA)


Sydney Thunder squad:


Rachael Haynes (c)

Samantha Arnold

Sam Bates

Tammy Beaumont 

Hannah Darlington

Saskia Horley

Shabnim Ismail

Sammy-Jo Johnson

Heather Knight

Anika Learoyd

Phoebe Litchfield

Kate Peterson

Lauren Smith

Rachel Trenaman 

Tahlia Wilson