Carey called for India tour | Adelaide Strikers - BBL
Cricket network logo

Carey called for India tour

07 February 2019

Adelaide Strikers wicketkeeper-batsman Alex Carey has retained his place for the Qantas limited-overs Tour of India starting on February 24.

Named Australia’s T20 and ODI joint vice-captain last October, Carey has a high score of 47 from nine ODIs batting throughout the order since his debut last January.

The 27-year-old kept wicket in Australia’s 2-1 ODI series loss to India on home soil after becoming a regular selection in the green and gold in 2018.

National Selector Trevor Hohns said the ODI tour of India and following tour of Pakistan were important windows for the squad to continue preparations for their World Cup defence in England from May 30. 

The Australian Men’s team will play two T20I matches and five ODI matches against India.

Aaron Finch (c) (Victoria)
Usman Khawaja (Queensland)
Shaun Marsh (Western Australia)
Peter Handscomb (Victoria)
Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)
Ashton Turner (Western Australia)
Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia)
Alex Carey (vc) (South Australia)
Pat Cummins (vc) (New South Wales)
Nathan Coulter-Nile (Western Australia)
Jhye Richardson (Western Australia)
Kane Richardson (South Australia)
Jason Behrendorff (Western Australia)
Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)
Adam Zampa (South Australia)
*D’Arcy Short (Western Australia) – Short has been selected to cover S.Marsh for the start of the tour.

Qantas Tour of India Fixture:

First T20 – February 24
India v Australia
ACA-VDCA Stadium, Visakhapatnam
7:00pm Local Time

Second T20 – February 27
India v Australia
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
7:00pm Local Time

First ODI - March 2
India v Australia
Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Dehradun
1:30PM Local Time

Second ODI - 5 March
India v Australia
Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur
1:30pm Local Time

Third ODI - 8 March
India v Australia
JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi
1:30pm Local Time

Fourth ODI - 10 March
India v Australia
Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali
1:30pm Local Time

Fifth ODI - 13 March
India v Australia Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
1:30pm Local Time