Scottish cricketer joins Strikers for ICC Rookie Program | Adelaide Strikers - BBL
Cricket network logo

Scottish cricketer joins Strikers for ICC Rookie Program

30 November 2017

The Adelaide Strikers will welcome Scottish player Kathryn Bryce for Rebel WBBL|03 as part of the ICC Rookie Placement Program.

Eight talented international cricketers will each join a WBBL club for approximately two weeks of the tournament, where they will have the opportunity to experience elite cricket environments, accelerate their development through training sessions and to take back what they have learned to their respective national teams.

In its third consecutive season, the joint initiative between Cricket Australia and the ICC will see cricketers from Scotland, Bangladesh, Ireland, Papua New Guinea and the Netherlands head to Australia.

Twenty-year-old allrounder Bryce plays for the Scotland women’s national cricket team and has previously spent time in Australia, playing a season with Southern District in Adelaide's south, as well as being the ICC Rookie for the Melbourne Stars last year.

Her sister Sarah will also be involved in the program this season, joining the Hobart Hurricanes.

Head of the Big Bash Kim McConnie said she was delighted to be able to work with the ICC on such a fantastic project.

“The WBBL has gone from strength to strength and it’s pleasing to again have the ICC’s support in making this initiative possible,” she said.

“Women’s cricket across the globe is continuing to advance and having we’re proud to support this initiative to not only grow these member countries players, but also continue to develop the WBBL and some of the best players around the world.”

The Strikers open WBBL|03 with games against Hobart Hurricanes at Glenelg’s Gliderol Stadium on 9 and 10 December.


ICC Rookies for WBBL|03:

Kathryn Bryce, Adelaide Strikers, Scotland

Rumana Ahmed, Brisbane Heat, Bangladesh

Sarah Bryce, Hobart Hurricanes, Scotland

Gaby Lewis, Melbourne Renegades, Ireland

Khadija Tul Kubra, Melbourne Stars, Bangladesh

Ravini Oa, Perth Scorchers, Papua New Guinea

Kim Garth, Sydney Sixers, Ireland

Sterre Kalis, Sydney Thunder, Netherlands


Complete Strikers WBBL|03 squad: Rhiannon Dick, Annie O’Neil, Ellie Falconer, Tammy Beaumont, Suzie Bates, Sophie Devine, Megan Schutt, Amanda Wellington, Samantha Betts, Tahlia McGrath, Katelyn Pope, Alex Price, Tabatha Saville, Tegan McPharlin, Bridget Patterson, Kathryn Bryce (ICC Rookie)