Cricket network logo

Gillespie claims Sport SA honour

16 November 2018

Strikers BBL coach Jason Gillespie receives Sport SA's Coach of the Year award

Adelaide Strikers BBL championship coach Jason Gillespie has been named Coach of the Year at the 2018 South Australian Sport Awards.

Gillespie, who re-committed to the club until at least the end of BBL|09, was recognised having made a significant contribution to the success of individuals and a team after leading the Strikers to their inaugural Big Bash title last summer.

The former Australian Test bowler guided his side to glory against formidable opposition but also retained his trademark character and humility to unite the squad and indeed the state through the sport.


Gillespie was honoured at a black-tie event at the William Magarey Room at Adelaide Oval on Friday evening. SANFL U18s men’s coach Tony Bamford and Athletics SA Pole Vault coach Kym Simons were the other finalists.

Inaugural Adelaide Crows AFL Women’s premiership coach Bec Goddard claimed last year’s award. Cycling’s Tim Decker and Hockey SA’s Craig Victory are among the other Sport SA Coach of the Year winners.