Cricket network logo

Four Strikers earn national contracts

30 April 2020

Tahlia McGrath, Travis Head, Megan Schutt and Alex Carey were all rewarded

Adelaide Strikers Tahlia McGrath, Travis Head, Megan Schutt and Alex Carey have been named on Cricket Australia's contract list for the 2020-21 season.

McGrath, 24, is a newcomer this year after an impressive 2019-20 campaign, which saw her win the Andrea McCauley Medal for the second consecutive year, at SACA's online Dansie McCauley Medal Night.

McGrath played all 16 games in the Strikers' impressive rebel WBBL|05 season, as she continues her development as an integral allrounder for the team.

Women’s National Selector Shawn Flegler said: “Tahlia McGrath had a brilliant season with the Adelaide Strikers and South Australia, winning the Andrea McCauley medal. She’s been a consistent performer over the last few seasons with bat and ball, including the five matches she played for Australia during the 2017 Ashes series.


“With Tayla and Ellyse Perry coming back from long-term injuries, Tahlia will add extra depth to our all-rounders, especially with her bowling. We saw that depth come into play during the recent World Cup and we know that will be important with another World Cup scheduled this summer."


Schutt remains on the list after playing her role in the women's T20 World Cup triumph against India at the MCG, and she continues to lead the Strikers' bowling attack with aplomb.


Strikers captain Head enjoyed a strong second season in the baggy green, most notably saving the second Ashes Test at Lord’s along with a Boxing Day century against New Zealand.   

Wicketkeeper-batsman Carey has also become Australia's first choice gloveman in the short formats, particularly due to a breakout World Cup campaign which saw him named in the ICC Team of the Tournament. 

Cricket Australia contracted men’s players
Ashton Agar (Western Australia)
Joe Burns (Queensland)
Alex Carey (South Australia)
Pat Cummins (New South Wales)
Aaron Finch (Victoria)
Josh Hazlewood (New South Wales)
Travis Head (South Australia)
Marnus Labuschagne (Queensland)
Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)
Mitchell Marsh (Western Australia)
Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)
Tim Paine (Tasmania)
James Pattinson (Victoria)
Jhye Richardson (Western Australia)
Kane Richardson (South Australia)
Steve Smith (New South Wales)
Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)
Matthew Wade (Tasmania)
David Warner (New South Wales)
Adam Zampa (South Australia)

Cricket Australia contracted women’s players
Nicola Carey (Tasmania)
Ashleigh Gardner (New South Wales)
Rachael Haynes (New South Wales)
Alyssa Healy (New South Wales)
Jess Jonassen (Queensland)
Delissa Kimmince (Queensland)
Meg Lanning (Victoria)
Tahlia McGrath (South Australia)
Sophie Molineux (Victoria)
Beth Mooney (Queensland)
Ellyse Perry (Victoria)
Megan Schutt (South Australia)
Annabel Sutherland (Victoria)
Tayla Vlaeminck (Victoria)
Georgia Wareham (Victoria)