Cricket network logo

Devine crowned WBBL Player of the Tournament

03 December 2019

WBBL|05 Player of the Tournament Sophie Devine

Star Strikers allrounder Sophie Devine has been crowned the rebel WBBL|05 Player of the Tournament.

Runner-up in last season’s award, Devine’s sublime WBBL|05 campaign earned her the right to this year’s top honour after a dominant for the Strikers with both bat and ball.

Devine smashed a League-high and club season record of 699 runs at an average of 77.7 – the highest of any player to play more than 10 matches in WBBL|05.

Sophie Devine smashes sightscreen

The two-time Strikers Most Valuable Player again led the League for sixes with 28 this season on her way to 2000 WBBL career runs – becoming the first Striker and just the fourth player in the competition’s history to reach the milestone.

Devine claimed five Player of the Match awards from Adelaide’s 14 matches and hit a WBBL record five consecutive half-centuries as part of her dominant season. She finished not out on five occasions.

She was also devastating with the ball, claiming 16 wickets to finish the season ranked equal-second at the Strikers just one wicket behind teammate Sarah Coyte.

Devine joins stars Meg Lanning, Mooney, compatriot Amy Satterthwaite and WBBL|04 winner Ellyse Perry on the list of recipients of the WBBL Player of the Tournament title.

Player of the Tournament votes are awarded on a 3-2-1 basis by the standing umpires at the end of each match, meaning a player can receive up to six votes per match.

Devine polled votes in 12 of the 14 matches she played, finishing 13 votes clear of Brisbane Heat opener Beth Mooney (35 votes) and Melbourne Renegade Danielle Wyatt (33).

1. Sophie Devine (Adelaide Strikers) – 48 votes
2. Beth Mooney (Brisbane Heat) – 35 votes
3. Danielle Wyatt (Melbourne Renegades) – 33 votes
4. Jess Duffin (Melbourne Renegades) – 31 votes
    Meg Lanning (Perth Scorchers) – 31 votes
    Ellyse Perry (Sydney Sixers) – 31 votes
5. Jessica Jonassen (Brisbane Heat) – 27 votes