Cricket network logo

Carey, Cormack included for BBL|07 final rematch

20 January 2019

Young off-spinner Michael Cormack has been included in the Strikers' 13-player squad ahead of Monday's clash with the Hurricanes

The Adelaide Strikers have added Australian vice-captain Alex Carey and young off-spinner Michael Cormack to their squad to face the Hobart Hurricanes at Adelaide Oval on Monday night.

Cormack, 21, has been selected in the squad for the first time after joining the Strikers prior to the KFC BBL|07 season.

The right-arm spinner featured in an internal pre-season practice match in Nuriootpa with figures of 0/14 off two overs, and was 63 not out for the Adelaide Cricket Club in the West End Twenty20 Cup on Friday.

Cormack joins Alex Carey as the two inclusions into the 13-player squad that fronted the Sydney Thunder last Sunday.

Carey and teammate Billy Stanlake have been cleared by Cricket Australia to return to BBL action after competing in Australia’s third ODI against India on Friday.

Colin Ingram will captain the Strikers with Travis Head and Peter Siddle joining the Australian squad in preparation for the Domain Test Series against Sri Lanka.

Monday night’s match begins at 6:45pm (local) and will be broadcast on Channel 7 and Fox Cricket.

BBL Squad v Hobart Hurricanes
Colin Ingram (c)
Alex Carey
Michael Cormack
Rashid Khan
Ben Laughlin
Jake Lehmann
Michael Neser
Liam O’Connor
Matt Short
Billy Stanlake
Cameron Valente
Jake Weatherald
Jon Wells

In: Alex Carey, Michael Cormack
Out: Travis Head (Australian Test duties), Harry Nielsen