Cricket network logo

BBL Final preview: Strikers v Hurricanes

04 February 2018

The BBL|07 title is on the line when the Strikers and Hurricanes do battle at Adelaide Oval

Strikers v Hurricanes
Sunday 4 February

Adelaide Oval – 4:00pm local

Head to head
Adelaide Strikers: 5

Hobart Hurricanes: 3
No result: 1

Tickets are still available!

Last time
A batting masterclass from Alex Carey helped the Strikers to an important 11-run victory over the Hurricanes at Adelaide Oval.

Carey crushed his first Big Bash century from just 56 balls in a match-defining 171-run opening partnership with fellow left-hander Jake Weatherald.

The Strikers stormed to 4/187 after their 20 overs, but didn’t have it all their own way in front of a packed home crowd.

An unbeaten 70 from Hobart opener Alex Doolan and a rapid fire 45 from 29 balls by Ben McDermott gave the ‘Canes some hope until the dying overs, but the visitors ultimately fell just short of an unlikely run chase.

Peter Siddle continued his stellar form in his first season as a Striker with 1/18 in an economic three-over spell.

Alex Carey blasts his maiden BBL ton

Talking point
It’s pretty simple - who will be crowned BBL|07 champions?

The Strikers and Hurricanes have taken different routes to this year’s final, but both teams deserve to be in the decider.

Adelaide has maintained a top-two standing for much of the tournament, while Hobart resurrected its season after losing its opening two matches of the summer to sneak into the four.

The Hurricanes dispatched title favourites Perth in a stunning performance at the new Optus Stadium in Thursday night’s first semi-final. The Strikers survived a tense final over on Friday night against the Renegades to secure their spot in the club’s maiden BBL decider.

Both teams would be a worthy winner of this year’s title.

Stat attack
The top two leading runscorers of the tournament will go head-to-head on Sunday afternoon.

Hobart dangerman D’Aarcy Short (504 runs) set a new record for the most runs in a Big Bash season while ‘keeper/batsman Alex Carey (425) remains hot on his heels after a standout summer for the Strikers, despite facing almost 50 balls less than his Hobart counterpart.

Their statistics are almost identical across the board. Both men have played 10 matches, have made a century and they’re the only two players to hit more than 40 fours in BBL|07. Their averages (Carey 53, Short 56) and strike rates (Carey 143, Short 148) are also eerily similar.

Ironically, the pair made their T20I debuts for Australia alongside one another on Saturday night, but will be back in opposite colours at Adelaide Oval on Sunday.

Striker to watch – Ben Laughlin
Laughlin held his nerve to bowl Adelaide into the final in a clutch finish on Friday night.

The 35-year-old has played more than 100 T20 matches in various leagues across the world, but admitted he was ‘emotional’ after the victory against the ‘Gades.

Laughlin knows better than most that such opportunities don’t come around that often, and the popular Striker will be eager to spur his teammates on to their first BBL title on Sunday afternoon.

Danger man – Jofra Archer
Archer has done the damage for the ‘Canes in both meetings between the two teams this summer.

The 22-year-old claimed 3/15 and stopped the Strikers in their tracks with an incredible final over to condemn Adelaide to its first loss of the season in Hobart. Archer then finished with another three-wicket haul despite his side’s 11-run loss in the return match at Adelaide Oval.

His height, pace and athleticism make him one of the most unique bowlers in the competition and the Strikers will need to be at their best see off his spell on Sunday afternoon.

Laughlin's clutch final over against the Renegades

Strikers squad
Travis Head (c)

Alex Carey (wk)
Wes Agar
Jono Dean
Colin Ingram
Ben Laughlin
Jake Lehmann
Michael Neser
Liam O'Connor
Peter Siddle
Jake Weatherald
Jon Wells
Nick Winter

Hurricanes squad
George Bailey (c)

Jofra Archer
Cameron Boyce
Dan Christian
Alex Doolan
Ben McDermott
Riley Meredith
Simon Milenko
Tim Paine (wk)
Tom Rogers
Clive Rose
D’Arcy Short
Matthew Wade