Cricket network logo

Australia Day, New Year's Eve headline BBL|09 Fixture

25 July 2019

The Strikers will play seven home games at Adelaide Oval in KFC BBL|09

The Adelaide Strikers will play seven games at Adelaide Oval in KFC BBL|09, which features a restructured finals format.

In a first for the competition, the Finals Series will give a second-chance for the top two teams and an eliminator final between fourth and fifth.

The BBL|09 Final will be held on Saturday, 8 February, with the regular season to be finished during school holidays as a direct result of fan feedback.

The Strikers’ home and away season will end against the Hobart Hurricanes on Sunday, 26 January, as cricket returns to Adelaide for the Australia Day long weekend.

In the opening two rounds, they will play the Sydney Thunder away before their first game at Adelaide Oval against the Perth Scorchers on Monday, 23 December, which will feature an Aboriginal celebration.

Smash's take on the BBL|09 Fixture

The Strikers will again host the Thunder in their flagship New Year’s Eve fixture which has attracted almost 250,000 fans since the first NYE game in 2013.

SACA CEO Keith Bradshaw hopes supporters will continue to fill the stands despite receiving more afternoon matches than desired.

“We know that there are challenges in this fixture and we feel the frustration of our fans who have shown their incredible support since the start of the Big Bash,” Bradshaw said.

“While the fixture given to us will see more afternoon games than preferred, and I stress that we fought hard, we encourage families to come along during the school holidays where the Strikers support staff will be doing everything possible to make the games safe, fun and enjoyable for all.

“Despite the hurdles, we know our fans will still turn up for seven games at Adelaide Oval this season, including our Australia Day long weekend match and New Year’s Eve which is a win for the State.”

Tickets will go on sale through Ticketek on 17 October and 2019-20 Strikers members will have access to a pre-sale prior.

Download a PDF version of our BBL|09 Fixture

Adelaide Strikers’ full BBL|09 fixture (all times local)
Saturday, 21 December 2019, Sydney Thunder v Adelaide Strikers, TBC (Thunder venue). 6.10pm.
Monday, 23 December 2019, Adelaide Strikers v Perth Scorchers, Adelaide Oval. 6.40pm.
Friday, 27 December 2019, Melbourne Stars v Adelaide Strikers, Metricon Stadium. 6.10pm.
Sunday, 29 December 2019, Melbourne Renegades v Adelaide Strikers, Marvel Stadium. 7.10pm.
Tuesday, 31 December 2019 Adelaide Strikers v Sydney Thunder, Adelaide Oval. 6.40pm.
Sunday, 5 January 2020 Sydney Sixers v Adelaide Strikers, TBC (Sixers venue). 6.40pm.
Wednesday, 8 January 2020 Adelaide Strikers v Sydney Sixers, Adelaide Oval. 3.10pm.
Sunday, 12 January 2020 Adelaide Strikers v Melbourne Renegades, Adelaide Oval. 3.10pm.
Tuesday, 14 January 2020, Brisbane Heat v Adelaide Strikers, Gabba. 2.40pm.
Friday, 17 January 2020, Adelaide Strikers v Brisbane Heat, Adelaide Oval. 3.10pm.
Sunday, 19 January 2020, Hobart Hurricanes v Adelaide Strikers, University of Tasmania Stadium. 2.45pm.
Wednesday, 22 January 2020, Adelaide Strikers v Melbourne Stars, Adelaide Oval. 6.40pm.
Friday, 24 January 2020, Perth Scorchers v Adelaide Strikers, Optus Stadium. 6.10pm.
Sunday, 26 January 2020, Adelaide Strikers v Hobart Hurricanes, Adelaide Oval. 6.40pm.

BBL|09 Finals Series
The Eliminator, Thursday, 30 January 2020, 4th v 5th.
The Qualifier, Friday, 31 January 2020, 1st v 2nd.
The Knockout, Saturday, 1 February 2020, 3rd v Winner of The Eliminator.
The Challenger, Thursday, 6 February 2020, Loser of the Qualifier v Winner of The Knockout.
THE FINAL, Saturday, 8 February 2020, Winner of the Qualifier v Winner of The Challenger.