Cricket network logo

Agar's rise recognised at Australian Cricket Awards

11 February 2020

Striker Wes Agar has won the prestigious Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year award

Adelaide Strikers quick Wes Agar has been named the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year.

Agar was recognised in Monday night’s Australian Cricket Awards at Melbourne’s Crown Palladium, underlining the 23-year-old's rapid rise in KFC BBL|09 and across all domestic formats.

The athletic paceman was arguably one of the most improved players in this year’s BBL season finishing with 17 wickets from 12 matches.

Agar claimed two or more wickets on six occasions, including 4/33 against Hobart in Launceston and 3/36 in Adelaide’s 16-run win in Perth.

He also impressed with the West End Redbacks in the Marsh One-Day Cup, taking a team-high 11 wickets, and backed it up with 23 Marsh Sheffield Shield scalps to currently sit equal-second on the Shield wicket-takers leaderboard.

Agar is the only bowler in the country to sit among the top-10 wicket-takers in all three Australian domestic competitions this summer.

Wes Agar roams at Adopt a Striker

Capable of bowling at speeds beyond 140km/h, Agar’s consistency, work rate and attitude has helped him become an important part of the Strikers’ bowling attack.

The Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year is awarded to the top player under the age of 24 and who has not played more than 10 first-class matches before the voting period began.

Notable previous winners include Brett Lee, Shane Watson and David Warner and former Strikers Alex Ross, the late Phil Hughes and Shaun Tait.